Feast logo

Maple & Brown *Coconut Sugar Overnight Oats

The Easiest and Tastiest Overnight Oats Recipe Ever

By Jamie StokesPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

I've been trying to eat a lot healthier lately to just get generally healthy and lose some extra weight. With that means trying to make healthier options for my boyfriend and I and this has been our favorite quick, easy, on-the-go breakfast! It’s a healthier (and just as easy) version of the instant oatmeal packs you can buy from the store. The difference here is you know exactly what’s going into it and you know that the ingredients are things you can feel good feeding to yourself and family!

1. Oats (Obviously)

You'll need to get some oats. That can be quick cooking oats, rolled oats, old-fashion oats, literally whatever you want as long as they're just plain oats with nothing added to them. I like to use Bob's Red Mill Quick Cooking Oats.

I add about 1/4 cup of oats to a mason jar or a bowl. (Use a mason jar if you're pretentious like me.)

2. Ground Flax Seeds

I add around 1/2–1 tablespoon of ground flax seeds. Flax seeds are full of omega-3 fatty acids, fiber, and antioxidants. They don't add a flavor or texture to your oats, but they add extra nutrition. If you don't have any on hand, omit them.

3. Brown Coconut Sugar

I add about 2–3 tablespoons of this coconut sugar, but you can change the amount you add depending on how sweet you want it (remember, you're adding maple syrup later).

I like to use coconut sugar because it's lower on the glycemic index so it won't spike your insulin as much as regular sugar. However, it doesn't really cut any calories from your meal. Use stevia or another natural zero-cal sweetener if you're wanting to cut your calories.

4. Chia Seeds

I add 1–1 1/2 teaspoons of chia seeds. I use black chia seeds in the video, but use what you have on hand. This helps the oats thicken up overnight. I love chia seeds for so many reasons, but a few health benefits from them are fiber, protein, omega-3 fatty acids, antioxidants, and calcium. They also help with your digestion.

5. 100% Pure Maple Syrup

I like to use about 1–2 tablespoons of 100% pure maple syrup. You could also use maple extract if you have that on hand. It'll add a maple-y flavor without the sugar and calories. If you're using maple syrup, make sure it's 100% pure maple syrup. That means the only ingredient should be maple syrup and nothing else.

6. Vanilla Extract

Add a splash of vanilla extract. This is totally optional. I've used it with and without and it doesn't really change the flavor too much. In the video I use the vanilla extract and vanilla almond milk, but you don't need to use both.

7. Vanilla Bean Almond Milk

I add enough milk to cover everything. If you like your oats thinner add more milk. I like to use vanilla bean almond milk because it tastes better to me, but use whatever you have on hand.

Next, stir or shake everything together and set it in the fridge overnight. I like to microwave mine in the morning so I can have a hot breakfast, but it's just as good cold. Add any toppings you like and head out the door!

You can also make this the morning of using the microwave. You add all the same ingredients to a bowl and microwave it for a few minutes and you have your own healthy instant oats! Either way, you decide to do it, you’ll be getting the tastiest healthy oatmeal I’ve ever tried.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Jamie Stokes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.