Feast logo

Mamaw Ruby's Best Ever Deviled Eggs

A Recipe Made by My Grandma!

By Katie GillispiePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A photo of her deviled eggs Christmas 2016

These eggs are always highly requested by family and friends each holiday season! She tops them with paprika for added color! They are a MUST every Christmas in our family for as long as I can remember.

Start with:

  • A dozen eggs

Boil them until hard, and peel them. Cut in half and remove yolk. Place yolks into a bowl, and mash them like you mash potatoes.

Then, add in the following ingredients.

  • 1 cup Miracle Whip (Mayonnaise is fine, just add 1 tablespoon of sugar)
  • 2 tablespoons of Mustard
  • 2 tablespoons Sweet Pickle Relish (We use homemade uncooked relish when we have it!)
  • 2 teaspoons White Vinegar (Apple cider vinegar is also good)

Mix all together until well combined. Spoon or use a butter knife to place the yolk mixture into the egg whites. Sprinkle paprika over the top, as much as you like! I don't see where it effects the flavor too much so this is up to you!

I hope you enjoy my mamaw's eggs as much as my family does!

(Pro Tip: Use the leftover yolk mixture for sandwiches! So yum-lishous!)

---

I can remember helping my mamaw make these when I was very young. Most of the things I know about cooking, I know from watching and helping her. She always said the only way I was going to learn was if she turned me loose and let me play around with stuff in the kitchen. She still kept a watchful eye on me to make sure I didn't burn her house down. (Lol!) To this day, she still cooks Sunday dinner ever week. It is usually the same things. Chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, baked beans and biscuits. And on special occasions she makes her deviled eggs.

Most things I learned from her, but others I learned from my papaw. We both made mistakes, but we always found a way to laugh about them. I remember he wanted melted cheese to put on his potatoes once. He took cheese slices, you know, the ones that don't even really melt on a grilled cheese. He took about four slices of that in a glass bowl and put it in the microwave! All it did was burn and cake to the bowl, and he couldn't get it clean! So I had to take a scrub brush and help him get the nasty cheese off of the bowl. A couple days later on a town trip, he got nacho cheese in a can for his potatoes!

Then, there was the invention of a "Jericho" burger. But that's a story for another time!

Another thing I learned from my grandpa was how to make great veggie soup! This may sound weird, but cut up hot dogs are great in the tomato juice! We put cabbage when we have it, mixed veggies from Aldi, home canned tomato juice, potatoes, corn, green beans, lima beans, and sometimes peas in it and a LOT of onion! Pair that with mamaw's biscuits and THAT was a great Sunday dinner!

Now, I am no longer living at home. And if there was anything that I can say that I miss, it would be mamaw's Sunday dinners and helping her cook them!

We wouldn't have been able to make Sunday dinners if it hadn't been for gardening and canning what we grew. I also learned a lot about that from my papaw that I will make an article on soon. Canning is a skill that I will NEVER forget, because Mamaw did so much of it! It is also a skill that I believe all people should have, I will definitely be teaching my children how to can and prepare for winters, as they can be rough. Bills go up, you don't have as much money to spend on meals. So can and hunt and freeze the meat. Can the meat. Always plan ahead! Have a plan for your family when things get rough.

These are skills that I am forever thankful that my grandparents taught me. Along with their stories! My papaw passed away a few years back when I was 12. I am 20 now, and the anniversary of his passing is just a little over a month away. I still get so very sad, but I always tell of the great memories that I had with him, as he truly was my best friend.

My mamaw still lives in the same place she has for years, and I can't wait to go home this year for Christmas and share some more memories with her and make some more memories with her!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.