Feast logo

Making Nut and Seed Drinks

Exploration of creating a variety of alternative “milk” drinks by Dr. Gabriella Kőrösi

By Gabriella KorosiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Pecans photo by Gabriella

It has been a wonderful and fun experiment to create different types of alternative drinks to have with hot chocolate or coffee. I also use these drinks for smoothies and shakes or just by drinking it by itself.

Creating your food products as much as you can at home brings you one step closer to health. Nuts have wonderful health benefits. Nut "milk" is a simple and nutritious drink.

Macadamia nuts soaking in water below, just before blending:

Macadamia nuts photo by Gabriella

I have been experimenting with multiple nuts including walnuts, pecans, Macadamia nuts, almonds as well as seeds including pumpkin seeds, poppy seeds, and sunflower seeds. I liked all the drinks that I created. They all tasted rich, flavorful and fresh. They keep in the fridge for about 2-3 days. Only make as much as you need for a few days.

See the story about making macadamia nut milk below.

You can make them in a few different ways depending on your taste-buds and your preferences. If you have filtered water or alkaline water available, you can just soak your nuts or seed in that water. I have been boiling water and using that to soak the seeds and nuts. Most of the time when I was making the drinks, I had the nuts soak at least for a few hours. The more you let them soak the more flavor you will achieve. I also experimented with not soaking them at all just blending them and that worked as well.

I’ve been using the ratio of one cup of seed or nut to four or five cups of water depending on the thickness and the consistency you would like to achieve. The first few times after that I was soaking and blending the nuts and water together, I strained the nuts and separated them from the juice. Creating a leftover pulp that you can use in many different ways.

Walnut "milk" below after blending and straining:

Walnut milk photo by Gabriella

One of the simplest ways is to use this pulp that I found is adding some eggs baking soda baking powder and some almond flour I also added some cranberries and bake them at 350° for about 20 minutes and they become wonderful healthy dessert. I made this with a combination of macadamia nuts while not and poppy seed leftover pulp.

Additional flavors you can add to your nut seed juice is vanilla. I added ½ a teaspoon to my almond “milk” and to the pecan juice. If you choose you can add sweetening with some honey Stevia, dates, or monk fruit. I have not had to add any sweetening. After a few times of making different juices, I decided to leave the pulp in together with the juice instead of straining it. This made the process much simpler, and I did not have to worry about what to do with the pulp.

It is a simple process to make these alternative juices from nuts and seeds and it is much cheaper than buying it from the store and the only ingredients you need are some nuts and water. I tried toasted nuts and smoke nuts as well and both of those combinations worked beautifully and tasted wonderful.

I hope you will try some of these ingredients and create your drinks. Feel free to mix and try different ways of making them you cannot go wrong. For my walnuts and pecans, I did let them soak overnight to get a lot of flavors into the drink.

Let me know if you experimented and tried some of these drinks and how the day worked out for you. you can reach out on my website below:

Thank you for reading,

Gabriella

Dancing Elephants Press Nov 13th, 2021. All Rights Reserved.

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Gabriella Korosi

I am a writer, public health professional, a nurse. Creator of connections, spreading positivity. Interests: health/spirituality/positivity/joy/caring/public health/nursing. My goal is to create positive change.https://gabriellakorosi.org

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.