Feast logo

Making Anzac biscuits in the Snow

How I create a little taste of home.

By Erin Rathier-BogartPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Enjoy with a cuppa in the snow.

Being away from home will make you miss the big things. Family, Friends, Events, Your Bed, the Local kareoke night at the pub, but weirdly it makes you miss small icons of home.

I am a newly wed lady who is currently getting used to a world with out vegimite as a staple and good coffee being a given. I have been in Vermont, USA for 4 weeks now, and let me tell you the idea of Australian cooking has ignited a passion I didn't realise I had.

I dream of food I actually havn't had in years,(Aside from vegimite that I have every damn day because I diserve a rose in my damn cheeks) but yesterday something took over. As I sat at my computer watching the snow fall outside, drinking my shitty coffee out of some one elses mug I thought, ' Man, I could go an ANZAC bicsut.'

I have NEVER made ANZAC biscuts, I don't even thing that as an adult i have even ever picked up a pack from my Local IGA. But, Yesterday I had to make them.

You know what else dosnt exsit in the snowy hills of Vermont? Golden Syrip. The roads a basically paved in Maple Syrup, but golden? Not a chance. So I had to come up with something that would create that sweet & bitter sticky delishesness. The Following is a recipe I put together via a really intense google search for the best ANZAC recipe. I hope that other Expats enjoy the gloden taste of home.

EXPAT ANZAC BICKIE

Replace Golden Syrup with:

1 x table Spoons of Molasses

3 x table Spoons of Honey

Method:

1 x cup Plain Flour

1 x cup rolled oats

1 x cup coconut

3/4 cup white sugar

150g unsalted butter

4 x Table spoons of Golden Syrup (alt the above if no golden Syrup)

1 x tsp Baking soda

1 x tsp vanilla

1: Pre heat oven to 180*C/350*F

2: line baking trays with baking paper

3: Mix flour, oats, coconut and sugar in bowl.

4: Place butter and golden Syrup (or alt) in Saucepan over medium high head and stir until butter has melted.

5: Add baking soda and stir to combine - it will fizz up, remove from heat

6: Pour butter mixture into flour and mix until just combined

7: Roll Level 1 table spoon mixture into balls, flatten into patties. Place balls 2.5 cm/1”apart on to trays

8: Bake for 15 minutes, swapping trays halfway during cooking, or until deep golden (bake 12 min for chewy biscuits!)

9: Stand on trays for 5 min, transfer to a wire rack to cool - they Harden as they cool!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.