Feast logo

Levant Wine and Barbecue

When the Middle East and Southern tradition meet

By Mary ProughPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Levant Wine and Barbecue
Photo by MORAN on Unsplash

Allow me to take you on a journey to the majestic mountains of Bekaa Valley, Lebanon where a prestigious vineyard by the name of Chateau Musar creates the most decadent wines known to the Middle East. Earlier this year, I was researching my ancestors’ birthplace and I discovered the wonders of wine making. As a fourth generation Lebanese-American who was born in South Carolina, I was enthralled by the commitment and dedication that Gaston Hochar, the founder of Chateau Musar, implemented to perfecting his craft. In 1930, the boundaries of Lebanon had not been rectified and Hochar wanted to guarantee that his premises would be inside the newly established country.

Upon completing my research, I purchased an oaky, full-bodied red wine circa 2003 for my first official taste test. I tried to hold off until August for a party but, of course, my curiosity got the better of me and I decided to indulge in the red blend wine on Memorial Day at a family barbeque. Before I am a Lebanese woman, I am a true blue, born and raised Southern lady who savors a great barbeque complete with brisket, burgers, and chicken. Any true wine connoisseur knows bold flavored meats pairs best with red wines due to the high tannins in red wine which complements the rich fattiness of red meat. However, I decided to live dangerously and eat the perfectly smoked chicken thighs while sipping the wine.

The first bite of the apple smoked chicken was an assortment of woodsy flavoring with the sweet crispness of a granny smith apple and the savory taste of umami from the chicken. My taste buds were singing from the collection of flavors while my stomach was rumbling happily from the tasty food I was supplying it. Even though I am accustomed to devouring barbeque, I still was parched from the hot spring sun which was blistering by noon, so I took my first sip of the 2003 red wine from Bekaa Valley. The sweetness of the sip caught me off guard then as it mellowed out I tasted oak and dare I say it, cedar, like it was stored in the trees that grow along the mountain ranges of Lebanon. It was smooth as it cascaded down my throat and left no unpleasant aftertaste which is common in low quality wine.

I took another bite of the chicken, down to the gristle, since I was taught at a young age to clean my bones properly. The taste of the wine was still present on my palate and they both merged into an unexpected pairing of flavors. There was no battle of flavors, which is surprising when devouring white meat with a red wine, it was an unforeseen love affair of savory goodness. The apple tang of the smoked chicken mingled with the fruity notes of the red wine creating a memorable experience I will not forget. I tested my own theory, thinking it was a trick of my mind and the heat, by taking another gulp of the smooth red wine while the meat was present on my tongue. Again, to my surprise, the same blending of the barbeque and the Levant occurred to my astonishment. Needless to say, I finished the bottle of wine on my own along with several pieces of chicken.

In retrospect, it is very staggering to a seasoned aficionado of wine and barbeque to find a red wine that can pair well with poultry. Wine making is a pastime in Lebanon as smoking and grilling is in the South. These two different cultural customs created an influx of flavors that should be experienced by everyone in their lifetime.

cuisine
2

About the Creator

Mary Prough

A woman who loves science, beauty, and writing horror collected from her nightmares. A creative mind who utilizes her mental health to work for her instead of against her.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.