Feast logo

Let's Chat About Aldi

Aldi's is like a cult

By Sarah StufflebeamPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
3

Y’all we need to talk about Aldi.

I feel like I’ve joined a cult. I should call my dad.

My cousin told me about this group on Facebook, TheALDINerd.com Community. These people love Aldi. I think more than Target people love Target. Or more than Kanye loves Kanye. So that’s a lot.

They started referencing the AOS. I’m intrigued. It’s the Aisle of Shame. If you’ve never been in an Aldi, it’s the aisle where they have all the crap you didn’t know you needed until you see it. Much like the voodoo that gets worked on you at Target. Lemon rain boots, candles, and fire pits? Oh my

And they post about their food finds too. There’s red bag chicken and macarons. And peanut butter cups. Don’t forget the peanut butter cups.

And then I start thinking, I’ve never seen these things in my Aldi. Or maybe they are magical. Like their goodness cannot be revealed to you until you have your mind opened.

So I started looking. And I started discovering.

And I felt like Cher in that scene in Clueless where she realizes how she feels about her stepbrother, a young Paul Rudd.

"Maybe I love Aldi”

It’s not a maybe, I definitely love Aldi.

So let’s visit the finds I’ve enjoyed the last five months since becoming a cult member…..

Lobster ravioli and cheesy take and bake breadsticks

I call this one, Balling on a Budget. Where else can you get a meal with lobster for less than $20? I also used the alfredo sauce purchased from Aldi. The cheesy breadsticks are so good and garlicky and it comes with a garlic sauce and a marinara sauce. The ravioli was good but probably not something I would get again. I would tear up those breadsticks on the daily.

Lobster Mac and Cheese

Once again, balling. I loved this one. The pasta was a cavatappi. It was creamy and rich and a perfect lunch. I wish it had a little more lobster in it, but beggars can’t be choosers. It took awhile to bake, 40 minutes, so plan accordingly.

Luxurious European Chocolate Truffles

I didn’t make that up. That’s what they are called. This box comes with 16 truffles and I believe it was $5.99. The flavors are bomb. Toffee, strawberry rhubarb, white vanilla, caramel chocolate, sea salt caramel, hazelnut, mousse au chocolat, and tuxedo. I mean, come on..

You’re not getting this kind of chocolate anywhere else for $6.

Macarons

12 macarons, coconut, lemon curd, lime, raspberry, black currant, and apricot flavors. Spring in France in a box. Mouthgasm. Chef’s kiss. Macarons are hard to make. I’ve done it. It sucks. That’s why they are so expensive. But this box comes in at $5.99. It’s a deal and a delight.

Peanut Butter Cups

Picture from Instacart because I eat them too fast and didn’t take a picture..

Full confession, I am a Reeses girl. I live and die by the Reeses Peanut Butter Cup. But I knew when I saw these on the shelf I had to see how they stood up next to the OG. And I’m not mad at em. They are different from Reeses. The peanut butter is smoother, and saltier, which I enjoy. And they come in a bag, unwrapped, which makes for easier and quicker consumption. Not sure if that’s a good or bad thing. I’d shove about 8 of these in my face everyday, no problem.

Red Bag Chicken

The gospel truth…

This is like the holy grail in my Aldi group. The elusive and hard to find red bag chicken. It was my unicorn. I searched every week to no avail. Until social distancing became the norm, and then the gods finally smiled upon my search. Threw it in the air fryer for 10 minutes at 400…..and I never need to go to Chikfila again. Dare I say it’s better? It is. Hands down, best chicken ever. It was worth the wait. And I dream about it until I can find it again.

Whipped Coffee

This is a screenshot of a video I made….it’s in the Aldi group…I couldn’t get it uploaded here…it’s entertaining though

WARNING: I am not responsible for whatever behavior you have after ingesting this concoction.

I have never done drugs, but I can only imagine this is what being high feels like. I saw everyone in the group making this “whipped coffee.” It apparently became popular on Tik Tok so you know it’s good if the kids are into it.

Basically you take 2 tablespoons of instant coffee, 2 tablespoons of sugar and 2 tablespoons of hot water and whip it until it looks like peanut butter. Once again, there’s some kind of wizardry Harry Potter shit going on here, but it really works. Then once you’ve whipped it, you put it over milk and enjoy

Then you see colors and clean your house and don’t sleep.

Turns out 2 tablespoons of instant coffee is enough to make 6 cups of coffee. So there’s that.

I could go on and on but I know you probably need to go so you can race to your nearest Aldi and find out what you’ve been missing.

When you join the cult, let them know I sent you.

cuisine
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.