Feast logo

Lenny's in Clearwater, Florida

A Great Restaurant in Pinellas County

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I love making good memories and I love eating good food. When you go to a good restaurant with someone you love, to me that's creating a good memory. Of course, it doesn't always work out that way and some restaurants have to suffer someone having a bad memory of the place simply because the company that came together weren't in harmony. Recently I went to Lenny's restaurant in Clearwater, Florida with my husband. We were on our way to the mall, had some time to kill and we were feeling hungry. I knew we had passed Lenny's while we were driving up Highway 19 and I suggested we go there for breakfast while we waited for the mall to open. We had just stocked our kitchen with groceries, so it wasn't about the food. It was about having a nice time and making a memory. However, Lenny's food is delicious and so worth whatever they charge.

The restaurant is usually very busy. We went on a Saturday morning and I was surprised to see that their usual waiting line for seating wasn't in action. There were plenty of empty tables and that was only proving how harsh Corona Virus has been in regards to restaurant owners. Sure, DoorDash and GrubHub help many restaurants, but they also cut into their profits, and make it harder for them to keep their employers at the restaurant.

We had a lovely hostess greet us at the concierge. We had a fast and efficient waitress serve us at our table. Our food was perfect; exactly what we ordered, delivered hot and fresh and timely. We didn't have to ask for refills on our coffee because the waitress asked us first. While we waited for our food, there were plenty of conversation starters just looking at the decorations all around the restaurant. The booth and table were clean and comfortable and so was the bathroom. The ambiance was diner style, but not too loud or too bright. It was easy going and enjoyable. We chatted with the waitress and with each other, then we enjoyed our food. She brought our check before we had to ask for it. We paid with the hostess, left a tip on the table, and we left.

A great memory had already been established in my mind about Lenny's back when we first discovered it around 2014. They have repeat guests because most people who have been there can agree that the service and food are worth the wait and the cost.

I noticed some changes due to Corona Virus and I felt sorry for them. They have to use paper menus now. They usually have large, plastic coated menus that are easy to read and really cute. They can't use those right now because of sanitary reasons. They are using small paper copies instead to comply with regulations. They are hard to read, but the waitress was so on it that she told me about the specials before I even had to look at the paper menu. I go the marinated steak and eggs breakfast and I savored every bite.

I also noticed that there wasn't a long waiting line. They have benches and seats outside for smokers and for the people who want to wait for a table. That's how popular they are when there is no Corona Virus. On a Saturday, not seeing a line, that was sad and I could see how they were taking a beating. I was glad to have gone to contribute and show my support.

I hope Lenny's will survive C-19 as well as other businesses like this that are so wonderful. I hope there are others like me, not just in Florida, but all over the United States and the rest of the world who know how important it is to show up and show support. I know it's not easy on the business to comply with regulations, and it's not easy for consumers to visit while complying with the rules, but it is worth it to keep them alive and thriving. If these places where we make our fond memories vanish, it's as tragic as losing a loved one to the illness. When we went to the mall, I mourned the loss of Sears and Payless Shoe Store. I hope I don't have to mourn the loss of Lenny's. Even though I plan on leaving Florida soon, I have made cherished memories at Lenny's. I can only hope it prevails so that if I should visit Pinellas County in the future, I can go there and enjoy it again.

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.