Feast logo

Kourtney Kardashian's Avocado Egg Salad

I saw Kourtney Kardashian make avocado egg salad...so I made avocado egg salad...

By Plates of DanaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2020
6

I saw Kourtney Kardashian make avocado egg salad...so I made avocado egg salad. But seriously, Kourtney Kardashian posted a snapchat story showing off a colorful bowl of vegetables that made me run to my local farmers market.

I changed up the recipe a bit because I was feeling adventurous, but as you can see by the image above, she left the ingredients listed. Back when I originally made found this recipe on Pinterest, I was in search of some simple Keto lunch recipes I could meal prep. This one stuck out to me because it wasn't a traditional salad on a bed of boring lettuce. It mixed up my regular menu for the week so I wanted to give it a try!

Let's Break it Down...

The original salad is comprised of three main ingredients: avocado, egg, and tomatoes. Each of these ingredients provides a plethora of nutritional benefits. Let's check them out.

Avocado

Oh avocado, how you're so loved by my fellow millennials and I. Avocado is high in fat, but don't get scared away from that fact...it's the good kind of fat! Because of it's high fat content, avocados keep you feeling full longer. According to to medicalnewstoday.com, avocados are a great source of vitamins C, E, K, and B-6, as well as riboflavin, niacin, folate, pantothenic acid, magnesium, and potassium. All that are great for your heart health...plus they're a staple in Keto diets.

Eggs

Eggs are such a versatile protein, I love throwing them into my meals as an additional source of protein. Think about the options...scrambled, poached, fried, hard boiled...and the list goes on. According to healthline.com, a single egg contains up to 6 grams of protein. They're also known for containing Vitamin A, B5, B12, B2, , Folate, Phosphorus, and Selenium.

Tomatoes

Now...tomatoes get a bad rep. Some people absolutely despise them, but I love them. Every year my parents grow them in their garden. There's nothing like a fresh, homegrown tomato. They taste like candy! According to Dr. Goglia, nutritionist to the stars and Kourtney's sisters, high lycopene foods like tomatoes, beets, and asparagus promote rapid fat transport. They also can provide about 40% of the daily recommended minimum of vitamin C according to health.com.

Kourtney's Recipe

Kourt's recipe is really simple. See the quote below for the exact ingredients...

“Kourt’s Signature Salad” consists of half an avocado, two hard-boiled eggs, a tomato, balls of fresh mozzarella, salt, pepper and olive oil. That's it. No herbs, no extra spices, no special dressing, no kale ... no flavor? - Today.com

I took a slightly different approach, adding in a few more ingredients to further the flavors and removing some that I didn't find necessary...

Avocado Egg Salad Recipe

  • 2 Plum Tomatoes
  • 2 Soft Boiled Eggs
  • 1 Avocado
  • 1/4 cup Red Onion
  • Cilantro

Start by soft boiling your eggs (I use an egg cooker to get the perfect soft boiled egg every time). In the meantime, dice the red onion, plum tomatoes, and avocado into cubes. Once your eggs are done, cool them immediately in a bowl of cold ice water (this will make it easier to peel). Peel your eggs and chop into small, bite sized pieces. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and topped with cilantro.

Final Touches...

As you can tell, Kourtney and I have a similar set of base ingredients, but overall our recipes have a slightly different flair to them. The three main ingredients allow you to be creative and change up the flavor profile with just a few differing ingredients. What would you add to your avo-egg salad?

For more recipes visit my website www.platesofdana.com and follow me on Instagram @plates.of.dana

recipe
6

About the Creator

Plates of Dana

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.