Feast logo

Keto Chili

On cold days, you just need something warm in your belly.

By Angie RobinsonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Hearty, Chunky, Savory

Already receiving raving reviews on Facebook, this dish already received 171 likes, and 108 comments in just the first two hours of it being posted. That's over 1 like a minute. Now it's almost doubled in its "like popularity"—point is: it's delicious.

On Keto, you have you staple ingredients such as eggs, chicken, spinach, etc. It can get monotonous after a while and sometimes you simply run out of variations of what to make in fear of going over your net carb count. This chili not only features some ingredients previously viewed as a no-no due to the "high carb count" but packs a punch of flavor and leaves you satisfied.

When preparing a dish or dinner on Keto, many fear the yellow onion or tomato. "That's too high in carbs. I wouldn't be able to make that." Someone actually told me that tomato was high in carbs, so I shouldn't have used it daily in my dish. Granted, I'm not going to eat a tomato if I'm already at 15g net carbs and it's the end of the day. However, view the bigger picture here. This is an ENTIRE pot of chili that will be split up into several bowls. My guess is around at least 12 servings. I used a low sodium can of rotel—split between 12 bowls it's barely mentionable. Think along the lines of the meal prepping and cooking in a bigger fashion. This way you can portion out your dinners and allow yourself to eat satisfyingly without feeling guilty! You have to look at the bigger picture. I'm not planning on eating the entire pot. 35g net carbs divided by at least 12 bowls is 2.9166 net carbs. It's ridiculous to think you couldn't use that ingredient. That's why I allow the tomatoes and allow the onion.... because my meals are always split up into servings. It makes carb counting less painful.

If I forget to count a carb or two during creation, I don't sweat it. My meal servings are still always under 5g no matter what I make. Makes things less stressful. Stress causes cortisol, which causes belly fat. Be happy cooking meals. Be happy using keto. Don't stress!

In this particular Chili (of course meats variations are allowed. Use beef tips or chicken or whatever you please!) I used a three meat and three veg combo.

  • 1 pkg of stew meat (pork)
  • 1 pkg of stew meat (beef)
  • 1 pkg of bacon (cuz I like bacon. You don't have to do bacon) finely chopped
  • 1 zucchini sliced and quartered (4g net carbs)
  • 1 small onion (5g net carb)
  • 1 red bell pepper (6g net carbs for one cup, but I just used 1 pepper)
  • 1 can "no salt added" rotel (12g net carb, 2 sugar)
  • 1/2 packet great value chili (8g net carb, 0 sugar)
  • 2-3 cups chicken broth (<1g carb per cup soo)
  • 1 cup water

There's wiggle room depending on what you use and how much of it.

Season your meat with chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, cumin, and red pepper flakes! Salt and pepper. Be sure to fry and sear the meat first. A nice thorough cook. Add water when the juices of the meat die down. Then let it froil (fry boil).

Repeat this step a few times to get the meat super tender.

Let's be honest... stew meat is not the tenderest.

I found this procedure really softens it up. Then add everything when the meat has formed almost its own gravy through the tenderizing process if you have the time.

Like any other chili, the longer it cooks, the more the flavors combine, the more it will be hard to keep away from.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did, my mother did, the people of Facebook did—you have nothing to lose! (Except pounds, amiright?)

Please don't forget to tip your chef. 😉

Enjoy!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.