Feast logo

Just Eat What You

Why I don't do Fad Diets or Cleanses.

By Angela LuttonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Just Eat What You
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

Every time I hear someone talk about cutting out sugar from their diet or I'm not eating meat or I gave up eating this that and the other thing. I am doing a cleans, I am doing intermittent fasting. Well, it just makes me want to scream. Other than the time that I had to fast because I was unemployed, had no money, was only eating what I had in my pantry, and trying to keep it to once a day; I try to eat regularly three times a day.

I have a balanced diet, my husband is diabetic so he tends to have the four basic food groups on his plate. His plate is also colorful. Fruits and vegetables abound our plates and the food is really good. He also doesn't over eat because that is also bad for a diabetic. We eat three meals a day except maybe on a Sunday when we have a big breakfast and only have snacks at lunch. Then we have a sensible dinner. I have dessert which for me is a basic food group, and I don't have cravings. It's a wonderful thing.

I don't binge eat. I don't stress eat because I am a nervous person and eating when stressed makes me sick to my stomach. I'm lucky that way depending on how you look at it.

Let me just say that skipping sugar out of your diet is not the best idea, yes in the short term you will lose weight, but in the long run you will gain it all back and then some. Your body needs all the basic food groups to function and if you don't supply it with what it needs, it let's you know, by way of cravings. Yes you know the "it's midnight and I need ice cream right now" kind of craving so you drive to Friendly's for a Friendly Fribble! (Chocolate of course.)

When I say eat what you want, I don't mean eat a whole tub of ice cream. I love ice cream and yes I have ice cream. I don't skimp because I want to lose weight, I embrace the fact that I love ice cream and then have a hoodsie cup of ice cream (two flavors for the price of one!) and only 100 calories. I have had my ice cream for the day. It's a beautiful thing.

If it's winter and it's cold I will have a cup of hot chocolate for 60 calories. So I have chocolate and feel warm all at the same time. It's a wonderful life. Chocolate wise.

I also love a good prime rib. No doubts about it I'm my fathers daughter. My father loves prime rib and lobster and so do I. I don't eat it everyday. I can't my pocketbook is not that big. But on occasion, I do like to indulge every once in a while in some surf and or turf or both. Again it's not every night, as I still like a good salad with some healthy protein such as fish or chicken.

I don't snack as much as my husband, but I do love chips and fruit and nuts and vegetables and all the things that most people like to eat. However, I eat it in moderation. I don't take a huge honking plate of food and hork it down quickly. I take what I think I can safely eat, mix it with fruit, veggies, and assorted green things that they say are good for you. (Not really sure about that the verdict is still out. Why people think kale tastes good I still don't know.) And I take it and I'm trying to eat more slowly, that is still a work in progress.

Cleansing your system is a good idea when the doctor says you need a colonoscopy, however, probably not a monthly basis. I know people who do these cleanses at least once a month. Why I don't know. Seems, well, kinda gross.

You can eat in moderation and eat what you want in moderation and still lose weight. It's not a magic bullet, and it won't happen quickly. You still need to exercise to make this work, however, if you start doing something you will have to keep doing it until you die to keep the results that you want which is really unrealistic in the long run. Your body will always win in the end.

Drink more water you will eat less. There are lot's of things that you can do to reduce your waistline. Skipping meals and leaving things out of your diet in the long run will not help you reduce your waistline, it will increase it more than what you had before.

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Angela Lutton

My name is Angie, I live in Massachusetts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.