Feast logo

Jorge's El Tapatio

One of the Best Mexican restaurants I've been to

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Jorge's El Tapatio
Photo by Ismael Trevino on Unsplash

I love Mexican food. Living in California, Mexican food is one of the most popular cuisines here. There is usually a debate as to what part of California has the best Mexican food, Northern California or Southern California. Of course I will admit that Southern California has us beat, but I just might have found one of the best Mexican restaurants around. I am talking about Jorge’s El Tapatio.

How We came Across Jorge’s:

When my parents and I moved to Tracy, CA back in the late 2000s, we wanted to see what type of restaurants they had. Of course, they had nothing but the usual food chains (Subway, McDonald’s, Taco Bell, etc.). There were barely any regular or family-owned restaurants that caught our eye. One day, we decided to try Jorge’s since it looked crowded on a Friday night. Jorge’s had Karaoke, a live Mariachi Band, a Jukebox and an upstairs part of the place. Our wait was 25 minutes and the food smelled delicious.

What we ordered:

Everything looked good and smelled good as well. I did not know exactly what I wanted to eat, but I knew that I had a taste for shrimp. I looked under Mariscos (seafood in spanish). Everything looked good. Shrimp tacos, shrimp burrito, shrimp enchiladas, etc. The choices became harder and harder for me. Then our server came. She recommended something called the “Fajita de Combinacion”. Of course, she asked me if I like chicken and steak as well before recommending the Fajita de Combinacion. I eat everything so of course I said Yes!

The reveal:

When my plate came, it was a sight for sore eyes. Everything on my plate looked amazing! The chicken and steak looked juicy. The steak looked grilled to perfection. It was sliced in thin strips. The chicken was sliced into strips as well and was a golden brown color. The shrimp...were Jumbo! Actually, they were big enough to be considered prawns. The bell peppers were a bright red and green color. Mixed with a white onion as well. My meal also came with rice that tastes amazing and just the right amount of seasoning. The refried beans were also good with the white cheese on top. It wasn’t cotija but it was another type of white cheese. Either way, everything looked amazing.

The results:

As soon as I took a bite, I immediately fell in love. It was so good that the song “At last” came into my mind. When you eat the fajita mix with the refried beans, oh my God it is heavenly. I do not know why but the sour cream also added more flavor as well. Everything was great! Most of the time I do not eat the tortillas because I am that greedy, but it tastes just as good as without the tortillas. I finished my whole plate and every since that day, almost all the time I eat the Fajita de Combinacion.

What makes Jorge’s one of the best:

Jorge’s has amazing food. I have had other things besides the Fajita de Combinacion. I also have had a very filling and scrumptious Super Shrimp Burrito. The shrimp enchiladas are good as well. Their carne asada tacos and chicken tacos are awesome as well. However, this is not what makes Jorge’s one of the best; it’s the fact that family and friends have raved about it as well. A couple later, my dad had his retirement party at Jorge’s. Everyone loved the food. In fact, it is still talked about to this day. Jorge’s has a variety of Mexican food for anyone; whether they like carne asada, pollo, carnitas or camarones. If you want good Mexican food, come to Jorge’s!

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.