Feast logo

It's IncredBowl!

An affordable and delicious, down-to-earth meal for the health conscious

By Marlena NkenePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Incredibowl Korean Grill

No really, I'm not kidding or trying to be pun-ny, that's the name. Lets say it together; Incredbowl Korean Grill, if when you say it, you hear a chorus of angels in the background, you've probably been there before. As for me, it's my new and absolute favorite place to get takeout! You see, I live in the land of the Dietary Restrictions, in the township of Food Intolerance-ville, on the corner of, "Now What the Hell Can I Eat?" It even comes with it's own town crier who tallies up daily sugars and calories, surveys options and shouts back in response "you can't eat anything at all," as a public service.

"I live in the land of the Dietary Restrictions"

A wise woman once said, "After 30 years old you no longer exercise or diet for appearance, but for survival". I personally have found this to be very true of not only myself but of the many ladies of my acquaintance. As our mature bodies accelerate unapologetically towards hormonal decline, most of us are now simply battling to feel normal and healthful as we live out the rest of our days. This is not anything to be taken lightly. Ignoring the maturing female body is a huge mistake that ultimately results in a devastating lack of energy, readiness or desire to do anything at all.

Truth is, you won't even realize it's your body rebelling against you until you look in the mirror and your lady bits wave back all of their own accord without having moved a muscle. Yes, it's that serious! So finding high quality nourishment is an essential part of allowing myself to feel more, me.

In addition to the aforementioned daily hormonal struggles, I also battle through the ever expanding and multi-tasking list of everyday responsibilities; kids, work, husband, husband duty (code for. . .well, you know) homework, teachers. . . I need energy, and plenty of it to get everything done. The only problem is, I can't eat just anything like I could in the days of my youth. Due to having a diverse catalogue of health issues, I have to be very careful with whatever I consume. Over the years I've had to cut out a variety of processed, overly preserved foods, sweets, carbs, and meats out of my diet. It was extremely difficult to do at first but I gradually eliminated them with great results. This means a lot of my meals are made at home. The rough part however, is finding meals that I could have on-the-go and without the guilt.

"I have to be very careful with whatever I consume. Over the years I've had to cut out a variety of processed, overly preserved foods, sweets, carbs, and meats out of my diet."

Now getting back to Incredbowl Korean Grill and why I love it so much! Sticking to your resolve is not an easy feat when you've got 3 kids chowing down in the car with you and the only diet friendly items aren't appealing at all. Before I learned about it, my options were to mix & match menu items, sometimes from different drive-thru restaurants, tolerate undesirable but healthy food, buy pricey slow food or starve. The stomach not only roars resentfully when it no longer desires toxic meals, but also, when it doesn't just want a salad! What's worse is actually joining in on the kids meals and then feeling the after effects of sluggish digestion, migraines, brain fog and constipation. Giving into temptation has a high price that can last for days!

"Giving into temptation has a high price that can last for days!"

I remember first reading the referral about the restaurant on the neighborhood app "Nextdoor". The first thing I noted was how colorful, alive and fresh their ingredients looked from the customer provided photo. I mentally filed it away under 'lunch date with the hubby' and quickly forgot about it. It was on our way back from an engagement weeks later that we finally stopped in for a bite to eat.

Photo Credit: Incredbowl Korean Grill

The restaurant was super clean and each of the smiling servers greeted us warmly as we entered. They explained to us how creating the bowls worked. You start with a base of white rice, purple rice or glass noodles, then you can choose your protein; beef, spicy pork, chicken or yubu. Then comes the best part (for me) so many options of fresh veggies to choose from! You can add unlimited toppings including carrots, corn, cabbage, lettuce, kale and more. This food is not greasy and you can actually smell the freshness of the veggies at the counter! Lastly they top every thing off with their delicious sauce. I counted about 6 to choose from. I chose their spiciest, Seoul II, and it did not disappoint! You can even double up on sauces with no additional charges. The portions are huge, so I was able to save nearly half of my bowl for later. They also offer some delicious tea and coffee options that I'll be diving into soon.

My Incredbowl to-go bowl is vegetarian heaven, and I'm not even a vegetarian!

My entire veggie bowl with purple rice cost $6.50 and my husband ordered his with the beef for about $8.50. It was so satisfying and affordable we decided to get meals to go for our 3 children at $4.50 each. Our whole family was able to eat for under $30! After eating there the first time, I haven't stopped raving about the place since our first visit. I don't have any guilt, heaviness or bloating after eating there, only a feeling of energy and satisfaction. If I don't feel like cooking, it's my first option for ordering in. As far as I'm concerned its my best on-the-go option that does not go against any of my dietary restrictions.

The only thing that could make their establishment any better is a drive through and more locations! I am thrilled at being able to have this kind of restaurant so close by. I see the Incredbowl Korean Grill as a consumer intuitive, and innovative forerunner as far as healthful, convenient and affordable dining goes and I hope the future is filled with many more like it! As more people take what they put into their bodies more seriously, places like it will be given preference over unhealthy alternatives. For myself though, it is my fast food lifesaver, my last minute dinner ally, my budgetary teammate! Now that it has come into my life, I can't imagine being without it.

This is my unbiased review of Incredbowl, I was not paid for or compensated for writing it. You can find more information about Incredbowl Korean Grill on their website: http://incredbowl.com/

Location:

INCREDBOWL KOREAN GRILL

4955 Sugarloaf Pkwy Suite 102

Lawrenceville, GA 30044

470)617-4062

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Marlena Nkene

Stories about my personal experiences, life lessons, journaling, inner growth and individual perspective.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.