Feast logo

How to make: Cheesy Chicken and Dumplings

One of my favorite meals for a cold night

By Ari hollowayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Cheesy Chicken & Dumplings

This Chicken and Dumplings recipe is one of the best comfort foods. The main base actually comes from a recipe for Cheesy Chicken and Rice casserole from A Mind "Full" Mom, which is also absolutely delicious so make sure you check it out as well.

To begin two of the main ingredients you'll need are shredded chicken and chicken broth*. The original recipe calls for homemade but I usually speed up the process by using store-bought for both and so far it's always worked out (knock on wood).

Let's Get Started!

Cheesy Chicken and Dumplings

Makes about 8 servings

Ingredients:

- 4 tbsp. butter

- 1 tsp. ground thyme, optional

- ½ tbsp. minced garlic

- ¼ c. all-purpose flour

- ¼ c. white wine or additional chicken broth*

- 2 c. chicken broth

- 2 c. shredded cooked chicken breast

- 1 tsp. kosher salt

- 1 tsp. black pepper

- 2 c. shredded cheddar cheese

- 1 8-pack biscuits

Preparation:

In a medium saucepan on medium, melt the butter completely. Add in the garlic and cook for 1 minute or until the garlic begins to brown.

Melt butter completely and add garlic

Whisk in the flour, thyme, salt, and pepper, and cook for 1 minute to cook off the flour taste, whisking constantly.

Slowly pour in the chicken broth and wine (or additional broth) whisking continuously. Continue whisking the mixture until thick and nearly boiling.

Reduce heat to low and stir the cheese into the mixture until melted and blended. Remove from heat and stir in chicken until completely combined.

Return to heat on medium-low and drop in pieces of dough**, cover. Let simmer for about 10 minutes or until dough is cooked.

Simmer for 10 minutes on medium-low heat

Cool for 5 minutes and serve.

Leftovers can be stored in an airtight container in the fridge or freezer.

Notes:

* In the original recipe the author called for additional stock in the recipe instead of broth. I couldn't find where there was any stock before that point and realized that she was referring to the broth.

I realize that this might be a bit confusing in this recipe so I decided to refer to it as broth from the get-go. I just wanted to clear that up in case anyone checked out the casserole recipe was wondering where the stock came from.

** Keep in mind that biscuit dough does tend to rise and expand more than your average dumpling might. If you're like me and love a good helping of dumplings then the more the merrier but if your not a fan then you may want to only use 4 or 5 of the biscuits.

- When shredding the chicken you may want to wear gloves. Sometimes chicken can get a bit greasy and gloves can make it a little easier to hold on to while shredding.

I have found that it can also help to use forks to shred the chicken. This can help avoid getting your hands dirty altogether.

The way I see it there's no wrong way to shred it so find the way that works best for you.

- One thing that I noticed about this recipe is that there are not many spices and herbs used in it, in fact, the only one aside from salt and pepper is the ground thyme, and that is completely optional.

I myself haven't really tried to add any extra ingredients in, but now that I seem to have the basic recipe I think I might start experimenting with some new flavors.

I hope you enjoyed the recipe and will keep checking in for more. If you'd like updates on upcoming recipes check out my Instagram.

I'm also trying to get some short videos featuring some of the recipes I've been making. This is the first video featuring my Homemade Chocolates. For the recipe I have on this site, click here.

Thanks for reading!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Ari holloway

Hi there! I enjoy baking and sewing and thought I'd share some ideas and projects.

Facebook Author Page

Insta: ari.holloway.vocal

Youtube: https://youtube.com/channel/UCL8NaeUoIbdicH6p2gXMs3g

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.