Feast logo

How to Improve Your Instant Noodles

An easy way to make cheap Ramen into a delicious meal!

By Kylie RuleyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Aren't these noodles so cool looking?

Everyone loves Ramen, right? I'm talking about those instant packets that range from $0.50 to maybe $3.00 at almost every grocery store. Sure, an authentic giant bowl of Ramen from a noodle shop would be awesome, but if you're a connoisseur of cheap cuisine, then do I have a solution for you!

I love to cook, and I love to go out. But sometimes, all I want is something quick, filling, tasty, and pretty to look at. Is that really so much to ask? I used to think so, but after lots of trial and error and realizing I had spent way too much time trying to turn a quick meal fancy, I have found the way! So let's get down to business. First thing's first: pick a noodle.

Organic and gluten-free instant Ramen? Who knew!

This wasn't the cheapest noodle packet on the shelf, or the largest, but if you're looking for a healthier noodle, give it a shot!

This brand of instant noodles was delicious and easy to cook. The Miso Soup base was beautifully rich and dark—just what I was looking for! But even the cheapest instant noodles will be fine. Pick your favorite flavor and prepare the pack according to instructions or personal preference. Just make sure you have some broth to fill your bowl!

Finally Getting a Chance to Show off My Ramekin Set

The salmon took five minutes in a hot pan with oil. The eggs took maybe 10-12 minutes in a pot, both of which can be items cooked ahead of time or in batches for other meals!

My next stop was collecting my toppings to fill out my bowl. Now to me, a good, hearty bowl of Ramen has two proteins and at least two vegetables. I'll admit, I am a little low on options, but I did manage to find five food items to enhance the flavor of my Ramen.

My selections were: pickled garlic, peas, baby carrots, pan-seared salmon, and a medium-boiled egg. I'd suggest cooking the proteins while you're preparing the noodles. Maybe even start them a bit before. Or, if you're really wanting to lower the work load, check to see if you have any leftovers that you can re-heat and throw into your Ramen!

A beautifully plain bowl. What could be better? Filling it with food!

I think my bowl was a tad bit too tall. If I could have made it an inch shorter I definitely would have!

Pick a bowl that will hold your ingredients well. I am a sucker for a pretty plate (or bowl) of food, so I picked this one because it's bright and deep; perfect for filling with broth and to make the colors pop. I wouldn't recommend a shallow bowl because it'll be easier to spill.

What? We're already done? Yes! This is the easy way, remember?

I know, you've just gotten comfortable and started to get the hang of things. Maybe you're glancing through the fridge and freezer for foods to mix together or trying to picture what was in the fridge the last time you opened it, but have no fear! It really is so simple.

I used to overlook lots of things in my kitchen that could easily make up a meal, and I'd feel stuck with boring instant foods or leftovers I was tired of. Go look through what you've got! Maybe there are some frozen veggies under a pizza in the freezer or some deli-sliced ham or chicken that doesn't quite make up enough for a sandwich. Ramen truly is a dish for food scraps to come together over noodles and in a salty, rich broth, to create a whole new dish!

And what does a Ramen bowl look like after pulling together random food items from a kitchen and mashing them together?

Like this.

I didn't think this would fill me up at first, but boy-howdy was I wrong!

Now get out there and make yourself a great bowl of noodles!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.