Feast logo

How Many Flavours?

The Australian Dilemma...

By Julianne McKennaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
9
How Many Flavours?
Photo by Rumman Amin on Unsplash

My taste buds pity those who have led a sheltered culinary life. Can you imagine being raised on a diet of hotdogs, meat pies, cheap pasta, and pizzas? Maybe throw in some McDonalds and KFC? On a busy night, it might be packet made macaroni and cheese, or two-minute noodles? I cringe just considering such a dull palate of food, and all the opportunities missed. How can parents do this to their children when the world of food has so much to offer? So many amazing flavours and textures, tastes and experiences, if only they would open their mouths and be a little brave. To be fair, if you do not have brave parents who are open to new culinary experiences, then chances are, the children will follow in their footsteps.

My appreciation of food has come from my mother's European background. Born to Polish parents, she never thought twice about feeding me what everyone else was eating. As a result, I ended up being "that child" that wanted to try everything that the adults were eating. I may have been born in Australia, but I was raised with an international palate. I will be forever grateful that we now live in a multicultural society with a melting pot of cultures and food to try.

By Helena Lopes on Unsplash

My mother had a trick - she used to say to me, "Have one bite to try it. If you do not like it, you do not have to anymore. If you don't at least try something, you cannot say that you truly like it or not, as you are only guessing. If you had never tried ice cream, how would you know if you liked it or not?". This worked like a charm on me. I can honestly say, there is very little that I refused to try. That still stands to this day.

I still remember the first time I tried potato pancakes that my Grandfather had made. I couldn't get enough. They were fried in a pan, hot and crispy, and sprinkled with sugar. From that day forward, every time we went to visit my grandfather, I would request potato pancakes. They became my comfort food, and I am grateful that he loved me enough to continually make them for me.

However, I do not feel the same way about "roll-mops" or pickled herrings. Yes, I did try them, I was brave, but it was a once in a lifetime experience, never to be repeated (not for lack of my mother continually trying). But give me anchovies any day - I can eat them by the handful. Sometimes, your taste buds just have a mind of their own.

By Mahmoud Fawzy on Unsplash

This love of international food has extended into nearly all cultures, boosted along by my constant love of travelling. In 1978, at the age of eight, my mother took me to Europe to visit our family in Poland. We flew on Jal (the Japanese airline) and no concessions were made back then for being Australian or a child. They served Japanese food for all the meals and snacks. This is how my love of Japanese food began. This was followed by a week spent in France, which ensured I returned to Australia with an addiction to croissants, sugar-coated almonds, and all things cheese.

I have not stopped travelling, and I have not stopped trying new foods. Pre-Covid, I cruised along the west coast of Canada and had the opportunity to sample Poutine. Was I hesitant? Just a little. But my curiosity was strong. I had to try it for myself to find out if it was as good or bad as I have heard. I am happy to say it falls into the "good" category. I can say the same thing about waffles with Canadian bacon and Maple syrup. Honestly, who thought to put bacon and maple syrup on waffles? Absolute genius!

Funnily enough, I have managed to pass this love of culinary experiences on to both my daughters. While most children were downing McDonald's for their weekly treat, mine requested sushi rolls and smoothies. Don't get me wrong, my children have eaten McDonald's (and food from all those other takeaway franchises), but it is not their preference. I don't deny my children junk food, instead, I work on getting them to make healthy choices the majority of the time.

By Randy Fath on Unsplash

When cooking at home, the same applies. If they want pizza, we will make it from scratch, with yummy, fresh toppings that usually include anchovies and olives. If they crave hamburgers, we will choose healthy, lean meat, and lots of salad and vegetables. If we feel like a vegetarian meal, homemade dahl is often the dish of choice. Yes, we are an Australian family, but our palates are truly happy with international flavours from all around the world. Our greatest dilemma is trying to get everyone to agree on a particular dish, as the options are so endless.

Fifty years ago, steak and vegetables, Shepherd's Pie, or Bangers and Mash were considered typical Australian meals. Today, it can be anything from Thai Green Curry, Sweet and Sour Pork, through to Lamb Koftas, or Butter Chicken. With a multi-cultural society has come an endless array of food options, in all the flavours imaginable. I cannot remember the last time I cooked a traditional Australian meal. It's simply not how we roll in this household.

Recipes From Around The World (photo by Julianne McKenna)

My recipe books read like the who's who of international cuisine. Maybe this is why I struggle to choose a favourite recipe whenever I am asked? Please do not ask me to choose just one recipe, for what may be a favourite today, may be replaced by a newly discovered recipe tomorrow. And now that I have added a Thermomix to my kitchen equipment, anything is possible in the culinary search for a new favourite meal.

To thank my mother for taking me to France as a child, and instilling in me a love of all things French, I have chosen to share one of my favourite French recipes, cooked in the Thermomix - the traditional, and much loved, Ratatouille. The funny thing about this recipe is that I was not a fan of either eggplant or Ratatouille before I made it in the Thermomix. Cooking in a Thermomix has changed my life and the selection of culinary dishes that my family now enjoys.

By amirali mirhashemian on Unsplash

Ingredients For Ratatouille (made in a Thermomix):

5 cloves garlic 1 red onion, peeled, halved, thickly sliced 30-50g olive oil 200 grams eggplant cut into 2cm cubes 200 grams zucchini, cut into 2 cm cubes 200 grams ripe tomato (I prefer Roma tomatoes for the flavour), quartered, seeds removed 100-150 grams capsicum (red or yellow - I use a mix of both) cut into 2 cm cubes 20 grams tomato paste a few sprigs of fresh thyme leaves a small handful fresh basil leaves (torn) 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar 1 tsp salt 1/4 - 1/2 tsp pinch freshly cracked black pepper 1/2 tsp chilli flakes (if desired - can omit) 1/2 fresh lemon

Method:

1. Add the garlic to the mixer bowl. Chop for 3 seconds, speed 9, measuring cup on. Scrape the mixer bowl down. 2. Add the onion and olive oil. Cook for 5 minutes, 100 degrees, speed 1, measuring cup off. 3. Add the eggplant and cook for 5 minutes, steaming temperature (varoma temp), slowest speed, measuring cup off. 4. Add the remaining ingredients (except for the lemon and a small amount of torn basil leaves to be used for serving). Cook for 12 minutes (approximately), 100 degrees, speed 1, measuring cup off. Place the simmering basket on top of the Thermomix to avoid splatter. Check the Ratatouille intermittently as cooking time may vary depending on the size and freshness of your ingredients. 5. Finely grate the lemon zest on top, and add freshly torn basil leaves. Adjust the seasoning if needed. Serve with a side of crusty bread or steamed rice.

Yes, it is that simple. Dinner is now served!

So, what is on the menu at your place tonight? Are you going to visit Mexico? China? Indonesia? Or will it be some newly discovered corner of the world? Travel isn't just about being a tourist, it's about discovering new culinary experiences that create flavour explosions in your mouth. It is an opportunity to tempt the taste buds and broaden your palate.

Now if only Covid would hurry up and disappear. Scotland is calling me, and I have a trip that needs to be planned and booked!

Recipe books for every occasion (photo by Julianne McKenna)

*****************************************

Thank you for taking the time to read my story. This little action by you is greatly appreciated by me. If you enjoyed what I have written, please make sure to click on the heart button, and leave some love... and please feel free to share with others (if you enjoyed my story they might too), this is a wonderful (and free) way to show support for me. If you are truly impressed with my writing, tips are also most welcome (but are completely optional and not expected). :)

Contact Information:

Twitter: @JulesMcKenna13

Instagram: @theblingprincess

Facebook: Julianne McKenna

recipe
9

About the Creator

Julianne McKenna

I write because my heart tells me to, I read because I love stories that make my eclectic soul happy. I'm an artist, scrapbooker, book nerd, animal lover, traveller and free spirit. Twitter: @JulesMcKenna13 Instagram: @theblingprincess

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.