Feast logo

Homemade Vegan Pancakes

An all-natural, healthy recipe from simple, wholesome ingredients.

By Ashley G.Published 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Homemade Vegan Pancakes
Photo by Chad Montano on Unsplash

So, you’ve probably come across a ton of different vegan pancake recipes – some of them great, some not so much! This one is super tasty and super easy! I came across a recipe years ago (on Instagram, I think!) and tweaked it a bit. It’s a super simple recipe that allows for variety! I have created so many wonderfully delicious types of pancakes (I’ll add some optional add-ons below) with this recipe and they’ve all been hits!

At the time that I discovered the original recipe, I was trying an alkaline lifestyle, and was changing up every recipe I could to include only alkaline ingredients. However, when I make these pancakes, I still opt for almond milk. I’ve tried with other milks such as hemp, coconut, and oat, but, in my opinion, they come out best with almond milk. The other milks can be too thick or too bland. Side note, I'm pretty sure using baking soda in these pancakes is also not alkaline, but hey, I tried!

This recipe typically creates 8 mid-size pancakes, not too small, but not that big either. I’m a small girl but will easily eat 4 of these pancakes in one sitting. So, if you’re not cooking for one (maybe two) you might want to double the recipe!

So let’s get to it! Here’s what you will need!

Ingredients:

1 cup almond milk

1 cup spelt flour (if for some reason you can’t find spelt, I have also used buckwheat flour)

1 tablespooon date sugar (can substitute for coconut sugar, or brown sugar)

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 tablespoons coconut oil (for the pan)

First, you’ll warm up your frying pan on medium to low heat and add the coconut oil to warm. *Tip: Only let the pan and oil warm up for a few minutes – you don’t want to burn the oil, or make it too hot that it burns your pancakes. If you think it’s best for you, don’t do this step until you’ve completely finished mixing your pancake mix and you’re ready to pour. You may have to wait a couple of minutes for the oil to warm up before it’s ready for the pancake mix, but its better than burning something and having to start all over!

Next, mix the spelt flour, date sugar, and baking soda in a mixing bowl. Then, pour in the almond milk and mix well. Your batter will be ready to go, if you would like plain pancakes. However, I like to add in different ingredients every time I make them.

So, here’s the fun part! You can add in anything you’d like to take your pancakes to the next level. Some options could be:

Chocolate chips

Blueberries

Bananas

Chopped Walnuts

Chopped Pecans

Strawberries

Apples

Cinnamon

Nutmeg

And, more!

You can add anything you would typically add to pancakes or muffins that you might enjoy.

My favorite combo is Banana-Walnut-Chocolate Chip! I add in about a half cup (to 3/4 of a cup) of chocolate chips, one whole banana (sliced or chopped), and a half cup of walnuts. Just toss them right into the pancake batter and mix it all up.

Another favorite of mine is Blueberry & Cinnamon. Just toss in a half cup to a whole cup (depending on how blueberry you like it), and about a half-teaspoon of cinnamon and cook ‘em up! Feel free to adjust the measurements of thee add-on ingredients to your liking. If you LOVE cinnamon, throw a whole teaspoon in there! It’s totally up to you!

So, after you’ve added in your optional ingredients, we want to get to cooking (‘cause I’m hungry over here!)

In my frying pan, with my pre-warmed up coconut oil, I scoop two tablespoons of pancake mix into a spot in my pan. Usually, I can get about 4-5 pancakes of this size into the pan at once. Let them cook until lightly brown on the bottom and you start to see little bubbles around the edges of the batter (just like regular pancakes), then flip!

You may need to add a little more coconut oil to the pan for your second round – just keep an eye on that so your pancakes don’t stick to the bottom.

Once you’ve finished cooking your pancakes, serve warm with some pure maple syrup, agave, or any other sweet syrup of your choice.

My faveee is pure maple syrup and fresh strawberries on top!

Ugh, they are heavenly!!

Hope you enjoy this recipe :)

vegan
1

About the Creator

Ashley G.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.