Feast logo

Highly Recommended

What You Bringing To The Party

By Gabby ValentinoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Strawberry Ice Cream w/Confetti Cake Crumble

It’s always a mystery. Always something to ponder. Boom! I’ve saved the date. July 23, 2021. Okay, we celebrating Leo Season. Shhh, I don’t know if it’s still Cancer Season.

Anyhoo, I got shit to do! The date approaches and I still have stuff to do. You know what?! Eff it! I’m hungry. Lol. Like this is my day(s) I’m rolling all this in my head damn near up until it’s time to go.

Blood pressure been spiking. And this has nothing to do with anything, but a girl has been liking. Yea, somebody’s daughter is liking on your girl. Maybe I’ll ask her to the party. Would she have to wear Nike? I mean that’s what the birthday girl requested of the Group Of Queens. That we wear Nike.

Even if I wear Nike, I don’t want to come to the party empty-handed. She didn’t say bring nothing. OMG! I’m getting hangry. Lol. You do know that’s a combination of hungry + angry. Everybody should know this term and see the tall tale signs in your mates and besties. This is NOT, I repeat NOT a time for selfies. It’s a time to find something to eat.

Eat Mindfully, I tell myself. You canceling the party yesterday. You want to drink less alcohol and eat more veggies and drink more water. Don’t you? Well, what about them zucchinis you bought the other day. And then peppers; a four pack at that. All the colors: red, green, orange, and yellow. Yummy!

I might as well not just cook one for me. They wanna be healthy too, right? I mean, there will be no veggies there besides spaghettis (laughing out loud), corn on the cob (from the frozen section - YUCK!) and potato salad. Fine! I’m bringing a pan of zucchini w/mixed peppers and onions. YUMMY. Here comes my Dad: “Your vegetables done?” Yes. That’s it. He goes and get him a bowl. Party or not, when food is cooked in the house. I guess it belongs in the house first.

Yay! My newly-wed cousins just arrived! They hanging out with me today; we going to the BBQ. Here comes my Dad, “Girl, then vegetables are good.” Man, y’all should have seen that smile on my face. It’s something about cooking a good azz dish, AND it’s good for you? You don’t even know.

Hugs and welcomes are exchanged and cold beers are dispersed. We getting ready to go. I still don’t know what I’m wearing. Let me find some NIKE. ‘Cuz wants to buy a shirt and apron. Well, they both want a shirt and an apron for the house. Black On Black Love, that’s the new brand. I’m putting it on everything: aprons, shirts, hoodies, you name it.

Y’all tell me why I always gotta give them a discount on the already discounted items? Never mind. I guess’cuz they repeat customers. They gonna get something.

Packing up is always long AF. People tires themselves out waiting on me. You know what? I think I want to make this cucumber salad and take that too. Fast forward: they toe’ (a slang for tore, i.e. threw down) that cucumber salad up.

Y’all ready for the highlight? I ask the group of folks at the party. “What is its?” they ask excitedly. Ice Cream, I yell. In a real cool way that I hope u hear and say it as you reading this; it was way cool. Naw, they excited ‘cuz it’s hot as hell.

Now the backdrop is I have these baby pound cakes and they are yummy BUT they will knock you out. Yes! I’m known for this 2500mg cake. It’s hecka (Bay Area slang) medicinal. I’m talking about: be careful if you wanna enjoy the first night of vacay, baecay, or even daycay. Listen, I will find a reason to take a vacation. I don’t even care, if it’s only for a day. I get tired of peopling sometimes, but that’s another story.

The perfect sized styrofoam cup was available. I mean like they knew I was coming and didn’t want to be hidden, like they ready to be used, like it’s real boring being a strong oak cup that just sits in a plastic bag lol (I really don’t like styrofoam due to environmental reasons).

I go around taking orders. Do you want with or without crumbles. “Gabe, is it going to be real strong?” Nawl, I answer, but I don’t REALLY know lol. Just kidding, I wouldn’t do the queens like that. I decide who gets one or two spoonfuls. I’m excited that they are excited.

What a perfect item to bring to the party! I know you want to know what happened next, but this the end of this story.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Gabby Valentino

Lemme see: 6 published poems, love letters, notes to myself, short stories, comedy material for stand up, curriculum, long posts & text messages. Yep! I’m a writer, but I’m just get started here. Join me in my journey of being more vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.