Feast logo

High Protein and Dairy Free Apple Pie Smoothie Recipe

The most delicious and pastry-like slim-fast smoothie I have made

By Talia DevoraPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

Throughout my SlimFast journey, I am constantly coming up with unique smoothie creations. If I have the same flavour every day, I always get tired of it and then I will not want to stay on track. The typical fruity flavours like strawberry-banana, blueberry and strawberry are delicious, but they can get boring from time to time. There are days when I crave more baked goods than others, but I want to continue losing weight and looking after my wellbeing. I have finally found a solution to reduce my urges to go for that doughnut or cheesecake brownie at the local bakery!

With all of my SlimFast protein powders and huge selection of frozen fruit in the house, I can make up a million SlimFast smoothie flavours that no one has discovered. To maintain my calorie intake throughout the day, I try to create dairy-free smoothie flavours using almond milk, cashew milk or coconut milk. Depending on the flavour, I also use peanut butter, almond butter, Stevia and various fruits.

The only bakery shop flavour I came up with so far is the Apple Pie Smoothie that is high in protein and dairy free. Once I took a sip, I was in heaven! I loved the sweetness and the fragrant smell of cinnamon. It reminded me of having that fresh-out-of-the-oven apple pie at Chudleigh's Apple Farm when I went there as a teenager. I went there on a field trip with my class and I loved it. It was the first time I have ever visited the apple orchard since I was an infant.

I encourage myself to eat at least two fruits every day. Apples are one of the fruits I try to convince myself to eat regularly. I use bananas in most of my smoothies and shakes, because I am addicted to them! Apples have many health benefits such as weight loss, reduced blood pressure, reduced risk of diabetes, strong bones, healthy teeth and gums and it is mother natures energy booster! Bananas are a great energy booster and it also has a significant amount of health benefits like reduced risk of Type 2 diabetes, reduced asthma, promotes digestive health and is the natures antidepressant. Bananas also improve memory and brain health. For a more holistic approach to long-term wellbeing, bananas and apples should be your first resort! Use them in smoothies as well as eating them cooked or raw!

If you are looking for some SlimFast inspiration or wanting to make yourself a delicious beverage at home, take a look at this Apple Pie Smoothie recipe!

Ingredients

1/2 or 1 frozen banana

1 cup of frozen diced apples

1 cup of almond or cashew milk

1 tsp of cinnamon

2 walnuts on top (optional)

Directions

1. In a nutri-bullet or any smoothie maker, combine the almond milk and frozen bananas and then blend for 1 minute. After a minute is done, add the frozen apples, cinnamon and protein powder and then mix for another 2-3 minutes.

2. Once the smoothie is finished, feel free to top it with some extra cinnamon and an optional serving of 2 walnuts. Pour it into your favourite cup, smoothie bottle, mason jar and enjoy with your family and friends! This also makes a perfect breakfast, lunch or snack to enjoy on your own at home or in your backyard!

Tips

1. Feel free to use any apples you desire. If you want something more sweet as opposed to something sour, I recommend using honeycrisp apples, pink lady apples, macintosh apples or gala apples. Pre-cut the apples and then put them into a large ziploc bag for freezing.

2. You can use any non-dairy milk you wish. For reduced calories and/or carbs, the best milks to use are almond, cashew and coconut milk. Almond and cashew milk are the best types for this recipe. Try to use unsweetened almond or cashew milk, because the flavour will already come from the fruit, the cinnamon and the protein powder.

3. Do not drink your smoothie too quickly. Enjoy it and absorb the delicious taste, so you can feel full longer. The Slim Fast ProteinPowder is supposed to control your hunger for 4 hours, so take your time and drink it. Watch your favourite TV show or read the newspaper as your drinking your smoothie. It will help you take your time.

I hope you are having a great week so far! Have a great rest of the week, stay healthy, look after yourselves and seize the day! Cheerio to all of my Vocal friends!

recipe
3

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.