Feast logo

Healthy Eating

Making healthier choices during such a trying time and year

By Jayme KeallyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Healthy Eating
Photo by Ella Olsson on Unsplash

Every year, each individual in this world wants to make all different changes in the way they go about eating. New diets are developed, and resolutions are set, but nothing is ever truly set in stone. When we turn over a new leaf and enter a new year, the first few days always seem to be a piece of cake. Your resolutions are fresh on your mind, and it is your main focus. Then, the temptations kick in. You are working forty hours a week, sometimes even more. Many people have had their hours shortened due to this global pandemic, making eating a bit healthier that much more difficult for people.

Fueling your body with goodness will not only affect you but those around you, as well. I am a mother to two little boys (both of whom are toddler age). They are watching my every move. If I bring junk food into the house, their temptation to eat is much higher. I will say that I have been blessed with two children who would rather eat salad or vegetables than have chips. The less I bring chips and cookies into the house, the less likely they are to ask about such things. Is it something completely avoidable? Absolutely not. They go to a sitter while I work. It is nearly impossible always to monitor everything they are consuming in the hours I am not present. Lead by example, and the choices your children make throughout their day will be a little easier.

I failed to mention how I am a single mother who works long hours throughout the week. Being a single mother, working full-time during a global pandemic is stressful enough as it is. Things become a little more difficult when money is super tight. Even near the end of this trying year, and money is less tight as it was at the start of our pandemic, things can still be difficult. After a long day of work, I am so tired that I do not want to stand in the kitchen cooking. I will admit to taking the easy way out time and time again.

As our trying year comes to a close, I have been looking hard into all different recipes to help make the upcoming year filled with good clean eating. Pinterest has become a not so guilty pleasure of mine as of late. The numerous recipes I have already been coming across are exciting. I cannot wait to give them a try and share the outcomes with you. Nothing is too dietary specific. I love a wide variety of foods and am working to introduce different foods to my boys as they are growing older.

One of my favorite things to do has been looking up how to make all of the salad dressings I love at home. I can definitely tell how adult I am by how I get excited about those types of things. But, at the end of the day, it is something worth getting excited about. You know what ingredients are really going into the things you are making. That is a BIG part of why I want to make as much stuff from scratch as possible. The less I have to worry about what “bad” things are going into mine and my children’s bodies, the less stressed I will be in the long run.

I have a whole collection of recipes ready to try out and share my experiences with them. All types of feedback to be given to help those in similar situations. I look forward to sharing this journey with all of you and hope to receive a little feedback from you, as well.

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.