Feast logo

Healthy at Home Snacks

low calorie, plant base, easy snacks :)

By Rachel StevensPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Now that our office, school, and bedroom are just steps away from the pantry. Snacking is something hard to resist. But knowing well that what we eat affects how we feel, having some healthy options ready is a good idea!

So, I have 3 of my go to snacks shared here that take care of all my sweet and salty cravings. (all plant based too)

1. Salty Pickle Crisps

This one is by far the simplest snack but keeps me from eating an entire bag of chips! Just need a cucumber, Ritz crackers (pretzels work well too), salsa of choice, and pink himation salt!

I just use one serving of the Ritz which is 5 crackers, fill up the rest of my plate with some sliced cucumbers and it keeps this snack under 100 calories!

The approximate macros 90 calories, 15 carbs, 4 fat, 1 protein.

2. Carmel Rice Cakes topped w/ Cinnamon Apple

This combo of sweet caramel cakes and a warm apple reminds me of a coffee shops pastries. (oh how I miss them right now)

For this I start out with a small apple cut up in slices and put into a bowl, covering all sides with cinnamon. Then put that into the microwave for 30 seconds.

Next I take 1 table spoon of peanut butter into a smaller bowl, mixed in with 2 table spoons of sugar free syrup. Put that in the microwave for 15 seconds, and stir the mixture after. Not only does this add a comfort feel to the snack due to the melted peanut butter, it makes an easy spread for the rice cakes.

Finally after I put the spread and apples on the cake I finish it with a little sprinkle of cinnamon sugar! Trust me this combo elevates your average rice cake.

The approximate macros, 250 calories, 40 carbs, 8 fat, 5 protein

3. Frozen Blueberry Protein Bowl (my personal fav)

Ah and lastly for today, my favorite snack that I have been eating every night for the last month. This is a take on frozen yogurt, vs smoothie bowl, vs cereal dish. And I am OBSESSED.

So first you want to take a serving of frozen blueberries (140 grams) into a bowl, and I add about half a cup of almond milk mixed with protein powder, I like to use Trader Joes Vanilla Soy. (Protein powder is optional of course, it works just fine with out it.) Then let your blueberries sit in the milk for about 2 minutes.

After the two minutes you should have an icy bowl of berries, I like to go ahead and add something to sweeten it. (sugar free syrup, Splenda, cinnamon, or honey works too)I top it with 1/4 a serving of my favorite cereal. Lately I have been using Special K's protein cereal, but I also really like Raisin Brand or Ceros for this!

Lastly I just add a SPLASH of almond milk on top and there you have it! Seriously so simple and so tasty.

The approximate macros, 180 calories, 25 carb, 1< fat, 13 protein. (If you omit the protein powder this would change to a 130 calories snack)

Okay so those have been my go2's lately! I find making actually nice snacks during this time over just grabbing a bag of chips is a win-win. You get to fill a little bit of your now overwhelming amount of free time AND you get to feed your body well. Stay safe and healthy, until next time

-Rachel.

healthy
1

About the Creator

Rachel Stevens

- health, fitness, and lifestyle-

IG: @Rachellifts

currently donating 50% of earnings to support those suffering from the COVID-19 pandemic in New York City. https://www1.nyc.gov/site/fund/initiatives/covid-19-emergency-relief-fund.page

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.