Feast logo

Grill Girl

Summer joy

By Tammi DPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Grill Girl
Photo by Danny Gallegos on Unsplash

Summer has always brought a mix of thoughts and emotions to my head, good and bad. Childhood summers are the best, of course, long days of sun, swimming, popsicles, and play. Then, we grow up, and summer becomes a different matter. Yes, there are good things like the beach, movies, fireworks, picnics, etc. When you are an adult though, one is also faced with the responsibility of paying, cleaning up, and sitting in traffic for hours on end once all these grand events of the season are over. It’s easy to feel burnt out after the stress of organizing these events and making sure they are a success. Despite all this, there is one thing I have found enjoyment in as an adult in the summer, grilling, specifically, grilled chicken.

By Evan Wise on Unsplash

As an adult woman, married with a child you wouldn't think I was the ideal target for the grilling. In my late 30, my husband began experiencing health issues. This meant I began learning to do things that he may not be feeling good enough to do sometimes. Nothing too big of course, daily chores, taking out the trash, things of that nature. This also included checking the grill on those days we decided to cook outside.

At, first I just thought it was another chore. I had been cooking for years in the kitchen. I was pretty good at all the homemade favorites. Meatloaf, spaghetti, and pork chops never received anything but praise from those who tried them.

I discovered the process of grilling a good meal involves plenty of preparation, which I found satisfying. Selecting the best charcoal, fluid, lighter, and other accessories are a variety of choices that affect the outcoming. Shopping for grill products became another adventure on the journey to a perfect meal.

Then when I started the grilling process from start to finish I became intrigued by the taste of meat once it was through the grilling process.

Not only was there a clean taste due to no grease but the potential for so many flavors to be combined into delicious new tastes. I must say another joy of grilling? Anyone rarely comes to see what you are doing. As a wife and mother, having time for your own thoughts is a precious gift indeed.

By KaLisa Veer on Unsplash

As soon as the weather warms up my thoughts would turn to what flavorful versions of grilled I would create. I couldn't wait to discover what new sauces, rubs, and other spice combinations were available at the grocery store for me to try out during the season. Not only that but lemons, oranges, apples, corn, and other vegetables can be grilled, alone or in combination with chicken, bringing out the sweet, savory virtue of the chicken. Once the flames began caressing the meat, dripping juices down into the coals beginning the delicious circle of flavor soaking into the chicken. The smell, oh the smell of chicken on the grill is for me the quintessential smell of summertime. With so many choices and so much variety, grilling has become a hobby that supplies endless chances to enjoy summer.

By Kate Tandy on Unsplash

After a week of work, stress, and family issues and generally working like a mad woman to keep a household running there is nothing better than sitting on the back porch with a cold drink, and watching the gentle swirl of smoke rise in the warm summer air. The sweet-smelling vapors of grilled chicken venture off in all directions around the neighborhood. Then you hear the far-off sound of one of your neighbors saying” mmmm… someone is grilling. Yes, I am, and it's the most peace I've had all week.

Thank You for reading my story! If you could read some of my other stories I would be really grateful.

cuisine
1

About the Creator

Tammi D

Hello Everyone!

I love a good story and want to be a storyteller.I hope you will enjoy my work.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • stephanie cetoute2 years ago

    Nice story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.