Feast logo

Golden Milk Powder

A Mrs Huston recipe

By Pyxy HustonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo courtesy of https://www.pexels.com/@kseniachernaya

This time of year I try REALLY hard not to catch the flu or cold before the flu season hits. Once I get the flu or a cold, I seem to be sick for the entire flu season. I get the flu shot but it does not cover you for every flu virus out there. The scientists study the trends and make an educated guess which flu bugs will be the worst during flu season.

This year it is especially important to get a flu shot, because, not only is it flu season but the city I live in is entering into what appears to be a second wave of Covid-19. At one point we had over 500 new cases per day prompting the provincial government to put us into code red and institute lockdowns. Now we are getting better but still, the amount of new cases daily is too high for my liking. And, even though I have already received my flu shot for the year, there is still that pesky Covid-19 out there.

So in order to boost my immune system, I stocked up on the ingredients to make Golden Milk Powder - a recipe I received from my doctor, actually.

One time, I went to see him with a persistent earache and walked out with the recipe for Golden Milk and a request to come back in a day or two if my ear still hurt. I drank 3 teacups over the rest of the day. Woke up the next morning and to my surprise, my earache was gone.

Just a word of caution though, don't overdo it with the turmeric milk or your urine will start to reek of turmeric.

Ingredients

4T Turmeric Powder - You might be able to find fresh turmeric root but drying it out and powdering it is more work than I am prepared to do. Unless you use all fresh ingredients, chopped up and boiled. If you do this I would strain before using.

2t Ginger powder - Same holds true with the ginger as for the turmeric. I have used minced ginger for this but I found that the ginger floated on top and drinking it proved problematic. It didn't feel very good on the way down; very scratchy on the throat.

2t Cinnamon Powder - I used powdered cinnamon for this recipe. If you go with fresh, take a 1-inch piece of Cinnamon Stick

1t Black Pepper - I have seen many recipes for Golden Milk and 1 thing is always constant - Turmeric and pepper are always on the ingredient list. You can omit the cinnamon or the ginger and adapt it to your taste but the pepper in this recipe is nonnegotiable, apparently.

1/8t Nutmeg, Powdered - This is a very strong flavour so I wouldn't add too much more of this ingredient.

1/8t Cloves - as with the nutmeg, cloves can be very strong tasting.

Directions

Get a container. I usually use a small Ziploc container or a small glass jar. with a lid. Place all the ingredients in the container. Close the lid and shake vigorously to blend.

Add 1t of the spice mixture to 1c of hot regular Milk.

If you don't drink cow's milk, you can choose to use a plant-based milk. I use cream for the higher fat content. If your liquid of choice is low in fat, I would add 1t of Coconut Oil. As I mentioned earlier about the ingredients, Turmeric and pepper are two of the main ingredients in this recipe. The third important ingredient is not the liquid used in the recipe but the fat content.

Drink the Golden Milk while it is still warm and watch out, this will stain your lips a slight yellow. And if you get any on the counter or your clothes, wash right away or the stain will never come out.

I don't recommend drinking this any more than 1 - 3 times a day. I drink this every day in the morning and only add a second or third if I feel like I might be coming down with something.

I cannot stress this enough - this can make your pee smell horrific! That is how I know I have had enough and maybe should cut back on the turmeric. Basically, if your body does not need it, the turmeric will be filtered out into your pee making it very yellow and very stinky. Kind of like what asparagus does to your pee but way worse.

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Pyxy Huston

Canadian Graphic Designer, Young adult novelist and gluten free recipe developer from Canada

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.