Feast logo

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Cookies

Gluten-free pumpkin cookies perfect for breakfast with a cup of coffee, as dessert under a scoop of ice cream, or as a guilt-free snack!

By Chic CopyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’m not that girl who jumps on the “Pumpkin Train” at the first mention of Fall. I don’t rush to Starbucks to order a Pumpkin Spice Latte. I don’t like pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving. I’d rather die than eat pumpkin soup. But…I love these gluten-free pumpkin cookies.

The Gluten-Free Pumpkin Cookie Backstory

This particular gluten-free pumpkin cookie recipe is an adaptation of my mom’s original recipe. She calls the cookies “Cow Pies”, though, and I operate under the pretense that if it doesn’t sound good, it probably doesn’t taste good. So I took out the wheat, eliminated the refined sugar, changed the name and voila! We’re back in business.

PS – when I was pregnant, I told mom what I’d be naming my daughter. Her response? “That sounds like a cow’s name.” And here she is calling cookies “Cow Pies”! SMH. Oh, and my daughter’s name is Lucy Belle. Not a cow’s name. I digress.

Not only are these gluten-free pumpkin cookies void of all wheat products, but they’re also dairy-free AND refined sugar-free. While I use this coconut sugar for mine, I’d love to try them with monk fruit sweetener, too. And of course, if you’re itchin’ to make these right now and don’t have GF flour or either of those paleo-friendly sugars on hand, standard white flour + sugar works just as well!

The Recipe

There are about a dozen different ways you could modify this gluten-free pumpkin cookie recipe to best suit your needs. Toy with the ingredients and let me know what works for you!

Confession: Using Pumpkin Pie Spice instead of the semi-lengthy blend of spices you’ll see in this recipe gives a similar flavor profile without the additional measuring.

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3 1/2 cups gluten-free flour (or standard white flour)
  • 2 cups coconut sugar or white sugar or monk fruit sweetener
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and cloves in a large bowl. Set aside.
  2. Cream butter and sugar in a stand mixer (or with a hand mixer).
  3. Add eggs, mix well. Add vanilla and combine.
  4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients gradually until well combined.
  5. Drop by tablespoon full onto a lightly greased cookie sheet.
  6. Bake at 375º for 12 - 15 minutes.
  7. Let cookies cool on the pan for 5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack.

If you don’t already have a go-to gluten-free flour blend, I highly recommend Namaste Foods Gluten-Free Organic Flour Blend. This particular blend converts at a 1:1 ratio and generates the same texture in baked goods as does standard white flour. Plus, Namaste Foods is much cheaper than Bob’s Red Mill, the more popular (but not more frugal!) GF flour.

Bon Appétit!

Mom’s My gluten-free pumpkin cookie recipe makes the perfect after-dinner treat served under vanilla ice cream. Also, it makes a delightful companion to a hot cup of coffee in the morning. And if I’m being honest, these cookies are a frequent after-school-snack in our household. There’s NO wheat, NO dairy, and NO refined sugar, so why not?!

Perfectly moist and wonderfully delicious, these gluten-free pumpkin cookies are perfect all year long. No need to wait for Fall or Thanksgiving Dinner for these babies!

If you’re looking for more gluten-free go-to’s, check out my 8 Gluten-Free Amazon Must-Haves for an awesome list of subscribe & save eligible Prime items that I personally can’t live without! They’re all shelf-stable, super-healthy, and most of them are also dairy-free.

My Simple + Delicious Chicken Pot Pie can also be gluten-free! Just use GF Bisquick and you’re good to go.

Let me know what you think about these cookies in the comments! My kiddos are borderline addicted, I hope yours like them just as much. If you substitute the monk fruit sweetener for coconut sugar, let me know how it turns out and I’ll give it a try, too. Enjoy, friends!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Chic Copy

HI! I'm Jess. I am a single mom, parenting two little people, and am currently in the first year of my graduate program, working towards my Master of Arts in Counseling. I hope you enjoy reading my pieces as much as I enjoy writing them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.