Feast logo

Get Your Daily Dose

Coffee, Food, and More

By Cody DunningtonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Get Your Daily Dose
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Here in my town of Kenosha, it can be said that there's plenty of small local restaurants to eat at. It's honestly one of my favorite things about living here. However, as is true in most things, there are always a few that shine above the rest. For me, it's a small cafe called Daily Dose. Now when I say small, I mean small. There are four booths, a small counter, and the cash register. It's tiny, but it has a big attitude.

They have everything you would imagine. Pastries, coffee, espresso, and more. They've got the specialty menu of espresso drinks, because who doesn't need their daily dose of caffeine? Now you know where their name come from! Of course, I go for the food and drink. Their specialty drinks are some of my favorite things that they offer. I. Love. Coffee. I drink it daily. Usually multiple times a day, so their wide range of choices helps. My favorite, though, is their spicy mocha. I get it iced, all year long, because I'm weird that way. I'm not sure what they add to it to make it spicy, but it is perfect.

They have countless breakfast paninis, and they are all delicious. I have to stop myself from going every day to get one. Mostly, because they are always so busy, that you're guaranteed a wait. I promise you, though, that it is worth it. They also have weekly frittatas, which are just as delightful, and also my go to. My favorite thing, though, is their sweet potato hash. It's everything you'd expect from a corned beef hash, but add sweet potatoes. It is rich, filling, and delicious. I get it every time I go, regardless of what my main meal is.

What makes the Daily Dose my favorite, though, is the people there. I have never gone there and not felt welcome. Every worker is always wearing a smile and a good attitude. They are always there to help, and love to give suggestions. I've found some of my favorite items there based off of a suggestion from one of the workers. I've even become friends with a few of the workers, and that's when you know that a place is truly special. So many people frequent this little establishment. It really is a part of our community.

Even better, they really stepped up their game during Covid. We all know Covid was tough on small businesses, which inspired me to eat more local. I wanted to help out in the community as much as possible. Especially with all the unrest from last summer compounding with Covid. To accommodate during the pandemic, they started a curbside service. You could order ahead online, and pull up next to the building or in the driveway.

From there, someone would deliver your favorite treats right out to your car. It added that special bit of care during an extremely stressful time. Now, whenever I am able, I frequent their establishment. They have reopened inside, with strict rules. Even now, they are doing their best to keep everything running smooth, while keeping their awesome attitude running.

Now, with it finally starting to warm up, their outdoor patio is beginning to open! Which means I can enjoy my favorite snacks and drinks while out in the beautiful sunshine. They really have everything I look for in a cafe. Good food, good drinks, and a pleasant atmosphere. There's not much more I could ask for when hunting for my daily caffeination.

If you're ever in the area of Kenosha, Wisconsin, I definitely recommend checking them out.

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Cody Dunnington

Just a 20 something year old with big dreams and access to word processing software.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.