Feast logo

Garlic Potato Soup

This is not a recipe with measurements. Must have the natural ability to go with the flow while cooking. Otherwise, you will be highly disappointed. Or if you just want to read a comical Not-A-How-To/How To continue on...

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Finished Potato Soup. Top it off however you like... cheese, bacon, sour cream, crackers, whatever

As the description denotes, this is not a measured recipe, nor is it a step by step follow along. I’ll try to remember this, the best I can, but I make no promises. I can’t duplicate a recipe to save my life. I have written exact measurements down of things I have made in the past and still can’t duplicate them. I look up recipes and use them as an outline. Don’t have something? No problem! I’ll substitute it with whatever I have on hand. Don’t like something? Leave it out! I guess you could say I am a natural cook. I just throw things in a pot and hope for the best. I would say 90% of the time it tastes great! Sure I’ve had some epic failures, but who hasn’t even while following a recipe?

Red skin potatoes. I used all but one of the big ones because I noticed it was rotten on the other side and like...half way through...ew, gross.

Dice your potatoes to your liking.

I diced my potatoes, put them in my instant pot with about a cup & a half of water.

I’m a lazy cook. 😅

I used my Instant Pot to boil my potatoes. Lazy, or genius? Depends on how you look at it, I suppose! I have a 3qt Instant Pot Duo and my diced potatoes came up RIGHT TO the max line. I put approx. 1-1/2 cups of water and then pressure cooked them on high for 5 minutes.

I took this photo in case I forgot how long I put them in for, you’re welcome 😆

I’m a quick release kind of gal when it comes to my Instant Pot. I am also impatient when cooking. I wait until I am STARVING to make anything, so you could say I could while hangry.

While my potatoes were cooking I had the genius idea to chop up celery & carrots to sauté. NOW! Had my kids not all decided to go outside and play in the snow at this exact time...my timing may have worked out better. But assistance was needed with finding more gloves and hats because they were covered in snow. ❄️🧤

Here’s where my “use what ya got” comes into play

Per the above caption, here’s where my “use what ya go” comes into play. I’m a garlic fan. In fact, I think I even used a little too much if I’m being honest. My breath could probably fight off a vampire while social distancing at the present moment. I prefer fresh minced garlic. 1. I’m lazy, I don’t like mincing. 2. I pay a little more to have it ready to go. 3. It’s delicious. I also just picked up this guacamole seasoning. I haven’t used it to actually make guacamole yet, but I have used it to season things and it’s FANTASTIC. Highly recommended. Perhaps you don’t have any of this, no problem! Use whatever you have, onion powder, garlic powder, perhaps you have some form of a roasted vegetable or garlic & herb seasoning. I’ve been known to use those vegetable soup packets in my potato soup before too, so good!

I added some more seasoning because I like a rich bold flavor in my soups

Once my potatoes were done in the Instant pot & my celery & carrots were too my liking... I drained the water out of the potatoes and dumped them into the pot with the celery & carrots.

I also added about half of a box (those 32 oz boxes, ya know? A quart, right?) Anyway... again... use what you have. If you have chicken, beef or vegetable broth...any of those will work. I used beef broth because I wanted to. I had vegetable broth but I like to change it up every now and then.

While that was simmering on low, I got out a medium saucepan (that’s what it’s called right? I just call it a pot LOL) and I brought approx 2 cups of milk, almost a full stick of butter, and 1/3 cup of flour (I did actually measure the flour), to a boil while stirring with a whisk the whole time. Once it’s boiling, it starts to thicken and you take it off the burner. Sort of like a gravy packet instruction sheet would tell you to do. Then I dumped that mixture in with my potatoes concoction.

I mean, it’s lookin’ super tasty at this point

Now, some might argue you should let this simmer a little longer to really soak in all of the flavors. I most certainly did not. In case anyone forgot, I was starving. As soon as it was all mixed up, I turned the burner off and moved on with my life.

If I would have had bacon, I totally would have thrown some in my air fryer to cook up and crumble on top. However, I did not...so here we are.

Is there any soup in my daughters bowl? Just looks like crackers.

Maybe you’re a crack person? I am not... this is my daughters bowl. I can’t even see the soup. She basically just ate crackers with soup on the side.

I hope you enjoyed this light hearted “not a recipe” recipe.

recipe
2

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.