Feast logo

Fall Treats - Po t Pie Edition

Read this for a tasty fall treat that will warm you to the core!

By Sara CaramellaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Fall Treats - Po t Pie Edition
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

Fall has always been my favorite season. The leaves changing color, the crisp temperatures, the thick sweaters, the boots, the fall fashion in general.. it is all so lovely and brings about such a warm feeling. But the best part of Fall? THE FOOD. I love candy corn, egg nog, the chili, cookies, pumpkin rolls.. so many delicious and delectable treats to enjoy. When I looked at entering this special challenge, so many ideas ran through my head. I have not always enjoyed cooking or baking but within the last year, I have really started enjoying it more. One thing I really enjoy making is a classic chicken pot pie. Read the rest of this to get my delicious recipe for this soon to be Fall favorite of your family.

The first step in any good recipe is ingredient collection. I first found this recipe on Pinterest and then made some of my own changes to it. You will need chicken (or whatever meat you like really; beef, pork, a mix), crust, chicken broth (once again, whatever broth you would like to correlate with the meat), veggies (carrots and celery and peas but you can play around with this, too), seasonings (I like garlic salt, pepper, cayenne powder and some plain salt), flour, butter, egg, whipping cream and milk. Once you have all your ingredients gathered, make sure you have the right tools. You will need a large pie pan, some Pam or alternative for that pan, a bowl, a knife and other utensils. Definitely make sure you have an oven you can use, too!

Once you have all of these items, it is time to get ready. Get your chicken thawed out, crack an egg and give that chicken a nice egg bath. Once that’s all prepared, get your oven warmed up(I like to get my oven to 400 degrees but this can also be preference) and get everything else ready. If you want to make crust (I get lazy and buy the pre made crusts from the store), get that going. You can find some great and simple recipes for that on Pinterest. Anyways, next you will need to get your peas ready, chop up your carrots and celery and get the stuffing ready. I start with the broth and mix in some flour. I will be honest … I sure don’t use measuring cups for anything.. I just wing it. Back to the recipe, so then I just mix up some seasonings, another, veggies… get all that mixed up and put in the crust. Then I like to cook my chicken for just 10-15 minutes in a pan. Then I chop it up in small chunks and throw it in. Then I cover the crust, dust it with some butter then seasonings and you are good to go! I throw that baby in the oven for about 40 minutes but my oven can be a bit finicky so I check it every 10 minutes or so.

Alright! You are nearing the end. Once your chicken pot pie is ready to go, you need to make sure it is cooked. I like to cut mine open and make sure it is nice and warm and my chicken is cooked. If you are using another type of meat, just use your discretion for how “cooked” you and your family would like it. Then shut that oven off, grab a couple plates and serve that pot pie up. I like to make a little salad to go on the side. If a plain lettuce salad doesn’t sound good, macaroni or potato salad are always good sides with pot pies. Serve it all up and enjoy this warm meal on a chilly Fall night. Enjoy!!!

cuisine
1

About the Creator

Sara Caramella

26. Crisis Counselor. Domestic Violence Survivor.

I believe in sharing my story so others know they are never alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.