Feast logo

Energy Bites - a No-Bake Snack

A poem and a recipe

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2021
61
Photo by author

It’s been a long and tiring day

My stamina has drained away.

I’m feeling run down, I’ve lost my pep.

My feet are dragging with every step.

*

Caffeine makes me fidgety,

So no more drinking liberally.

What will revive me on a summer day

Without a crash when I want to play?

*

I desire the perfect snack

To help me get my energy back.

Then I’ll go on with nary a yawn,

Facing all challenges head-on.

*

Have you ever craved cookies and didn’t want to heat up your kitchen, especially in the heat of summer - and store-bought cookies just would not do? Maybe you didn’t want to babysit a timer or worry about a burned batch. Face it, we’ve all been there! If you’re like most people, you would be happy to discover an easy, homemade snack that has some protein to keep you from getting hungry when you’re on the go. I’ve got just the answer.

Energy Bites are a cross between a cookie and a granola bar. They are vegan and no-bake. Low sugar or savory versions can be made with just a few modifications. There are many ways to tailor Energy Bites to your taste and your dietary restrictions, and the recipe can be easily halved or doubled as needed. Best of all, they taste great!

Children have fun making Energy Bites, as long as they don’t mind getting their hands a bit messy. They also delight in having a say about ingredients. When I watched my youngest brother’s kids for a week one summer, they loved making and eating these treats.

You can pop two or three Energy Bites into a Ziplock bag for a boost during the day while at work, out on the lake, picnicking, or going on a hike. They are also great for potluck parties. Who doesn’t love a grab-and-go dessert which has some nutritional value?

I made Energy Bites one summer when my whole family came to Arizona and we all went hiking in Sedona. They were just the ticket for the trail. I laughed when my oldest brother mistakenly called them Energy Balls. At least he doesn’t tease me about having bigger ones than mine!

…and now for the recipe. Enjoy!

*

Energy Bites

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • ½ cup mini chocolate chips
  • ½ cup ground flax seed
  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • ½ cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix all ingredients. Roll into balls of desired size (approximately 1 inch). Chill in freezer or refrigerator to set. That’s it!

To minimize the mess on your hands, you can refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes. You can also try coating your hands with a bit of butter or oil, or wear gloves if desired.

*

I favor natural creamy peanut butter, but any kind will do. For peanut allergies, pitted date paste can be substituted.

For less sugar, chocolate chips can be replaced. See below. Honey can also be substituted for or combined with agave nectar. Increase flax seed and/or peanut butter to establish stickiness needed to keep the balls together.

Optional add-ins or replacements:

  • Raisins or Craisins, chopped
  • Coconut
  • Chopped nuts of choice
  • Chia seeds
  • Cereal of choice

For a savory version, try replacing the chocolate chips with chopped fresh fruit (I love mango) and adding cayenne pepper or Tajin to spice things up. Keep this version refrigerated.

My mango Energy Bites, with a dash of cayenne. Sticky, but yummy!

I hope you are satisfied and entertained with this poem and recipe.

This is part of the wonderful Vocal Cooks Collaborative.

Here are samples of some other recent additions:

recipe
61

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Misty Rae2 years ago

    Yummy!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Loving this!💖💕

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    They look really good. Great poem too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.