Feast logo

Eating Chocolate To Lose Weight

When you think of the calories in the meals you eat, you may realise why looking at chocolate as a valid meal, at least sometimes, can be a valid way to eat!

By Carolyn CordonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Eating Chocolate To Lose Weight
Photo by Charisse Kenion on Unsplash

Good chocolate, dark chocolate, that is, has many good things in it. Sure it has sugar, and fat in it, but so do many things, and a meal with say chips, and something fried with it, crumbed chicken for instance, will have many more calories in it that a small serve of good chocolate ...

So when I have chocolate, I don't go for some cheap stuff, and binge on it, I opt for high quality chocolate, and savour the small amount of it I allow myself. Does that sound like a cop out to you?

If so, you're not looking at the truth of it, and you have to realise I only have a chocolate only meal on rare occasions ... I can't afford it that often! A little, and not too often is the way to go, with such things.

I also eat plenty of vegetables and some fruit, as well as whole wheat grains, and so on. When you have a healthy diet, and don't overdo anything, you can get away with the yummiest stuff sometimes!

I didn't mention anything about that part of it at the start, did I? But eating is a range of different things, some very good for us, others not so good. If we know how to measure up how much we eat, and dine accordingly, yay, chocolate can happen, and we won't get fat from it!

Moderation is a key to life, not just in our diet, but in a range of things. Life is there, with so much that is good, but much of it will turn bad, if we have too much of it. Certainly, if I had all of chocolate in the photgraph, I'd suffer from the consequences in terms of weight gain!

One ounce of dark chocolate though, once a day perhaps, that is nowhere near as bad as eating too much steak, salad and chips, a more usual meal choice. I don't eat that chocolate every day though, no matter how much I like it, and that is fine.

Not having something every day makes it seem better when I have it, or only having tiny portions of it, is the same. I don't have my fine piece of chocolate every evening, after my main meal, but when I do have it, I savour it, rather than gulp it down in one hit!

Food is a needed thing in our lives, but so is moderation, so I also try hard to savour everything I eat, in a mindful manner. And because there is a dog in our family, no food will ever be wasted, because Missy loves food! If we have a mean with onion in it though, I make sure I eat the onion, because I know eating onion can be harmful to dogs. I would hate to do anything to harm my precious pup!

Missy is not a young girl, but she's lovely!

Back to Moderation ...

So, yes, we feed our dog scraps from our meals, but we are careful not to give Missy anything that will harm her, and we limit her intake of the main part of her meals, which are usually a high quality dry dog food.

As you can see from the photo, Missy is going quite grey, on her muzzle. She's thirteen years old. And because she is such an old girl and has been with us for all of her life, we do the best for her we can, and so try to feed her only a moderate amount of food too. If she gets lots of our food, she gets less of 'her own food'.

But Missy also gets her own yummy snacks and treats, as we do. She loves to help out in the kitchen, by eating vegetable scraps, such as carrot peel, and mushroom stems, when the human's main meal is being prepared. And she gets a 'Denta Stick' to help keep her teeth clean, but rarely more than one a day.

As the humans limit our chocolate intake to only a small amount once a day, so Missy limits her Toothy treat! Missy probably doesn't understand the whys and wherefors of it, but the humans do - and we understand that if we eat only small amounts of the tasty, but high calorie foods, and only moderate amounts of other food, we can treat ourselves, with the highest quality food we can afford!

And because of that high quality, we will eat each morsel more slowly, and really savour the luscious tastes of all we eat! So yes, eating chocolate is a fine way to lose weight, if one wants to be slimmer and healthier!

healthy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.