Feast logo

Easy, Healthy Protein Muffins (Blender Recipe)

My Favorite Grab-And-Go Fuel

By Laura OdegardPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Usually, I love having a smoothie for breakfast in the morning. I love it for a few reasons—it’s easy to make, it’s totally satisfying, and it’s healthy. During the week, I’m usually up around 7 AM, but I don’t have much of an appetite until 11 or 12 PM, which is why I prefer to drink my first meal of the day. Lately, though, I’ve been craving carbs first thing in the morning rather than my usual green smoothie.

I decided to experiment with a few recipes until I came up with one that I really loved. My requirements for a quick and satisfying breakfast were: it has to be easy to make, it has to taste good, and it has to keep me full for at least a few hours. I knew that the protein powder was really what keeps me full for my smoothies, so I figured that would be a good item to incorporate into this recipe.

Initially I wanted to try to make some homemade protein bars, but the idea of muffins just sounded so much better. Plus, I love to challenge myself by trying to come up with a healthy version of something that’s typically not very healthy. That’s where these came in: Easy, Healthy, Protein Muffins made in a blender.

I have to admit something. Even though I really do love to cook, I absolutely hate using multiple pots, pans, bowls, etc in a recipe. So much so that I almost always modify a recipe down to only one or two cookware items. The funny thing is, I really don’t mind the cleanup but for whatever reason I just can’t stand having to use a bunch of different bowls or pots or pans to use! Am I crazy or does everyone feel this way?

Anyways, I’ve seen the “blender muffin” trend around the internet a few times and decided to take a stab at making a super easy, super healthy, very delicious muffin recipe. And if I do say so myself, I succeeded. Note: Between myself and my roommate, Julia, we ate all 24 mini muffins in one weekend. (But it’s fine, because they’re healthy ;)

Here’s what you’ll need for this recipe:

2 ripe bananas

2 to 3 scoops of protein powder (I use the Vanilla ARIA for women brand)

1 cup almond butter (I like to use Justin’s Vanilla Almond Butter—because OMG it tastes like dessert, even better than Nutella!)

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/3 cup coconut-almond milk blend (or any milk)

Optional toppings

I decided to use frozen blueberries for one half and chocolate chips for the other.

Blend all the ingredients together (except the toppings). Once everything is blended, the batter should be thick like a pancake batter—you definitely do not want it to be too runny. If that is the case, you can add in some more protein powder, or oats or chia seed to absorb some of the liquid.

Spray a muffin tin with coconut oil and fill 3/4 of the way full. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 min.

Personally, I think that these taste the best after they’ve been in the fridge overnight. Something about the thick, dense muffin and chilled chocolate chips just tastes amazing. I like to grab a few of these as I’m heading out the door, or as a quick snack or even dessert after dinner. They may taste like a naughty banana bread bite, but with no flour, dairy or added sugar, these are actually very healthy in moderation, so feel free to enjoy!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Laura Odegard

Insta @LauraOdegard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.