Feast logo

Ding Dang It Burger

A taste of heaven on a bun.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
The Ding Dang It Burger by Amanda Payne

The Ding Dang It Burger is a hamburger infused with a smokey bacon cheddar cheese and topped with sweet Southern coleslaw on a Hawaiian bun.

I had a difficult time coming up with a title for this recipe. My almost-three-year-old granddaughter Hadley gave me the idea for the name. She enjoys watching whitetail deer on TV. When we see a big one, we call out, "Ding dang it!"

She had been busy playing with her toys, and then she grabbed the TV remote and jumped up on the sofa beside me and said, “Let’s watch deer and say ding dang it!

So, that is what we did, and that is how I came up with the name. I think it fits perfectly. I mean, just look at that big juicy burger, and you will think, ding dang it!

Yield: 12 Ding Dang It Burgers

Serving Size: 1 Burger

Calories: 657

Fat: 34 g

Carbohydrates: 40 g

Protein: 50 g

Ding Dang It Burger Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds of hamburger meat (I used venison)
  • 13.2 ounces of shredded Smoky Bacon Cheddar Cheese
  • 3 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 12 Sam’s Choice Sweet Hawaiian Hamburger Buns
  • 16 ounces of Marketside Tri-Color Coleslaw
  • 1.25 cups Duke's Real Mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup of white distilled vinegar
  • 2/3 cup pure cane sugar

Getting It Done:

  1. Make the coleslaw first. Mix sugar and vinegar in a small or medium-sized bowl until smooth.
  2. Then add the mayonnaise and mix until smooth.
  3. Pour the mixture over the slaw. Mix and refrigerate.
  4. Mix all ingredients for the burgers together in a large bowl. Make 12 burger patties.
  5. Pan-fry over medium-high heat for about three minutes on each side or grill over medium-high heat for about 5 minutes per side or until cooked to the desired temperature. Rare is 125, medium done is 145, and well done is 160.
  6. Put a burger on a bun and then add about 5 tablespoons of coleslaw on top and enjoy!

If you want to make your own tri-color slaw, just cut up a whole green cabbage head, a couple of carrots, and about 1/4 of a red cabbage head.

If you want to make fewer burgers, just cut the recipe down. One pound of ground burger will make about 3-4 burgers, depending on how big and thick you like yours.

If you are not a huge garlic fan, leave the minced garlic out. The burgers will still be awesome!

I used ground venison for this recipe, but you can use beef, chicken, turkey, or whatever you have on hand. You can even use a mixture of ground meats.

I hope you enjoy my recipe!

Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you enjoy it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent sandwich recipes: Carolina Venison BBQ Sandwich, Sloppy Joes, Meatball Subs, and Cheesy Venison on Ciabatta.

Maybe you want a recipe without ground meat. Check out my Super Easy Ham and Potato Casserole recipe.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

The Ding Dang It Burger recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
4

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.