Feast logo

Deviled Eggs For Memorial Day

the one food I look forward to every summer

By Alexandra ZellerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Deviled Eggs For Memorial Day
Photo by Rosalind Chang on Unsplash

Memorial Day is the key start to the summer for our family. It's the one time each year when we all get together. It doubles as both a family reunion and a reminder of those who have died defending the country.

The day is filled with many things, from water balloons to a bounce house, and, most importantly, a potluck.

We do the stereotypical grill out where we have hotdogs, beer brats, hamburgers, and chicken, but the real star is the plethora of foods crafted and brought in by each family. It ranges from pasta salads to blonde brownies to beer cheese... the list goes on.

There is one thing, however, that is the piece de resistance.

The deviled egg.

There will never be a finger food so simple, so delicious, or so scrumptious. It is the icon of our family gatherings.

There was one year when a diet I had to try for my tummy troubles kept me away from any egg products. They thought I was sensitive to egg whites. That was the single most painful year of my life. I had to stare at that try of beautiful ivory deviled eggs. They were beautifully dusted with paprika and smelled just like the perfect marriage of mustard and mayo. I had to watch as each one was plucked from its little deviled egg divot on the platter. One by one, they made their way into the stomachs of everyone but me.

Even knowing how eating one could potentially make me very ill, I wanted that egg with a vengeance. I know why people with lactose intolerance still eat foods containing lactose now. They aren't masochists, they just really, really want some damn dairy.

As pathetic as it was, that was last year. What did I do last year? I went home and I cried like a baby because I couldn't eat a deviled egg. I couldn't explain to my mom why I was crying and pouting about a hardboiled egg, but I just felt so disheartened.

Thankfully, the issue was found to not be a sensitivity related to eggs, so this year, I had my fill of them.

But I still remember that Memorial Day like it was yesterday. I hadn't realized it at the time, but at least my family, and the food we make, are all intricately connected. Food is such a deep part of the traditions our family celebrates. Having been disconnected from that was an isolating experience.

For each holiday, we seem to have our iconic foods. Birthday celebrators usually request the eclair dessert. On Christmas, we have classic cookies and little personal pizzas. On Thanksgiving, we always have a green bean casserole.

Yet, to me, nothing will top the powerhouse that is deviled eggs.

Sure, they could literally be made for any holiday, but something about knowing I'm walking into the family reunion and will eventually get to toss down a hardboiled egg with mayo, mustard, garlic salt, and paprika really hits different.

Anyways, here's how I believe they are made. In any case, I also put my own spin on them when I make them on my own.

1. Hard boil them eggs. However you like, for however long. One thing I've learned is you can ask 10 people how long is the perfect time to boil an egg and they'll all give you different answers.

2. Slice 'em down the middle and scoop out the yolks into a separate bowl. Keep your perfect little egg-white cradles to the side for a moment.

3. Put all of the following ingredients in with the egg yolks. Get 3-4 tablespoons of mayo per 7-ish eggs. I usually use a little more mayo (and everything in this portion) because I like them thick and creamy centers. Add about 2 tablespoons of mustard- I like Dijon mustard but anything works. Finally, I put in a dash of garlic powder, onion powder, and a little like teaspoon of pickle juice (omit pickle juice if you hate pickles). I also add a bit of paprika.

4. Mix those suckers up until they are smooth, creamy, and yellow.

5. Spoon equal parts of your yolk concoction into each little egg-white bowl. If you didn't use paprika in the mix, you can sprinkle some on top and make them look fancy.

6. Eat your little heart out.

Sorry if this seems real sketchy, but making summer foods (especially your go-to get together foods) are just as much of an art as writing or painting. These are just the guess-timates of what I use.

Enjoy the fledgling days of summer!

cuisine
2

About the Creator

Alexandra Zeller

A young adult still trying to find her place in this world.

You can follow me on all my socials!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.