Feast logo

Crock-Pot Venison Shoulder Roast

Easy cooking for a delicious roast.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Crock-Pot Venison Shoulder Roast by Amanda Payne

A deliciously moist venison shoulder roast lightly seasoned and cooked on low heat in a crock-pot with granny smith apples and onions.

Shoulder meat is the least favorite meat to process for most people, but it is well worth the effort. I like to slow roast a shoulder in a crock-pot and then make something with it. It is delicious when served with mashed potatoes and a rich, thick brown gravy. Yummy!

I know some people that throw their shoulders away. To me, that is a complete waste. Every little ounce adds up, so I try to save as much as possible. You can cut the meat off the bone and grind it up for hamburger meat, sausage, meat sticks, jerky, etc... but we have other delicious options, too.

You can create just about anything with it, like fajitas, quesadillas, tacos, BBQ sandwiches, and steak subs. You can put it in a stew, chili, or soup or just splash it with A1 sauce. Add a little seasoning to it and serve it with scrambled or fried eggs. I have even put it on pizza and in salads. Don't knock it until you try it!

Crock-Pot Venison Shoulder Roast by Amanda Payne

Crock-Pot Venison Shoulder Roast Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds of venison shoulder (or beef roast)
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1 1/5 teaspoons of salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of ground black pepper
  • 2 large Granny Smith apples, cored and quartered
  • 2 small onions, largely sliced

Getting It Done:

  1. Rub the inside of the crock-pot with olive oil or use a crock-pot liner.
  2. Remove the meat from the bone so it will fit inside the crock-pot. Remove all of the sinew, tendons, and fat. You want nothing but beautiful red meat. If not, it will affect the taste.
  3. Place the venison shoulder pieces inside the crock-pot. Coat the venison with olive oil. Then sprinkle it with black pepper and salt.
  4. Quarter and core the apples. Slice the onions. Cover the meat with apples and onions. Cook on low heat for about 12 hours.
  5. Once done, remove the shoulder roast from the crock-pot. Leave all of the apples, onions, and juices in the pot.
  6. Put the shoulder meat in a bowl and serve it as you wish.

Let's eat!

When you take the shoulder roast out of the crock-pot, it will be so tender that it falls apart. You can take a fork and easily rip it to shreds. It is possible to cut, but it is difficult. It is so tender I recommend using a fillet knife if you are going to try to slice it.

You can calculate the nutrition facts at myfitnesspal.com. You can also use an online recipe calculator/divider to get the right ingredients for the amount you want if the yield is too large or too small.

I hope you enjoy the recipe! Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you like it. I appreciate your support very much.

Crock-Pot Venison Shoulder Roast by Amanda Payne

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Pressure Cooker Tacos, Crock-Pot Italian Venison Subs, Crock-Pot Venison Roast with Onion Gravy, Mississippi Venison Pot Roast, and Carolina Venison BBQ Sandwich.

This Crock-Pot Venison Shoulder Roast recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
4

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.