Feast logo

Creating an Allergy-Friendly Platform

A membership business geared towards inclusivity in baking and cooking that is allergy-friendly.

By KBPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Creating an Allergy-Friendly Platform
Photo by Anshu A on Unsplash

“To be a good cook you have to have a love of the good, a love of hard work, and a love of creating.” –Julia Child

Over the past year, I have had changes to my diet that have made eating difficult. It can be an isolating feeling to not be able to eat out with friends, eat a company lunch, or stop for a bite on the road. That, and it’s also exhausting.

Currently, I am gluten, dairy, and egg-free.

Although these are recent changes for me, my sister has grown up living with a nut allergy, where it is especially rare to find restaurants that she can eat at. She grew up learning how to check snacks for traces of nuts and to ask the restaurant if they can accommodate her allergy. She has to be extremely careful, and unfortunately many places aren’t willing to take extra precautions to make their food allergy-friendly. Whereas, until now, I was able to eat whatever and wherever I wanted (so long as nothing was brought into the house with nuts).

Customizing diets is one of the many reasons why my family is always cooking...that and we’re Italian. But I have found that many of the recipes I have worked with in the past and grew up making are no longer suitable for my new diet.

This is why, with Memberful, I would create recipes that are allergy-friendly, taking subscribers on a food journey that is gluten, dairy, egg, and nut-free.

I know, it’s a lot of substitutions–which is why allergy-friendly recipes are hard to perfect; and also why they are rare to find. They take a lot of time, patience, and adjustments that make this specific process of creating recipes much more lengthy.

However, once I take a bite into my chocolate chip cookie, vanilla cake, syrupy jam-topped pancakes or cinnamon scone, it is all worth it. I have a big sweet tooth, I can’t help it!

Side note: although my recipes aren’t geared towards being vegan, many of the recipes happen to be or can be altered to be so.

With Memberful, there are also more opportunities to share content with subscribers. For example, there is potential to make lesson content that can go into depth about my process of creating recipes, along with helpful tips and tricks that aren’t normally included in the simple ingredient lists; Gluten-free flour is more difficult to work with than wheat flour and takes a lot of practice to learn how to use it properly.

Memberful also gives the possibility to create space for videos like “Cook With Me” demonstrations that guide the viewer through a specific recipe. I have found that seeing visuals along with the chef/baker has helped me improve immensely.

***

As much as I love cooking and baking, sometimes I just want to lay on the couch when I get home from a long day of work. We all get lazy.

Another aspect I would include in my subscription is a compilation of restaurants and bakeries that are allergy-friendly. This is where the community can come in. If recommendations are coming in from all different cities, traveling can become much easier and can bring excitement to trying new things. There can be one giant allergy-friendly community bringing in more ideas and tips. There are some amazing farms and local companies that sell their food products that can be shared here too. I am always looking for a great brand of tea, jam, or honey.

Overall, one of my goals is to further bring awareness to the severity of allergies...for people to understand that those with allergies are constantly worrying about cross-contamination or are nervous just to eat food. It would be wonderful if that weren’t the case.

Hopefully, my content will help this awareness as well as allow people to become more comfortable in their cooking and baking abilities and bring delicious and safe recipes into their homes.

healthy
1

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.