Feast logo

Cornbread Casserole

Tasty, yet simple!

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Cornbread Casserole by Amanda Payne

Cornbread Casserole is a savory meal made with ground meat, black beans, sweet corn, onions, peppers, a layer of cornbread, and topped with cheddar cheese.

This is an easy meal that takes only 30 minutes to make. It might not be the most attractive recipe, but it is definitely palate-pleasing. I almost did not share this recipe because it is not very pretty, but it tastes so good I could not deprive my readers of a delicious meal.

It tastes better than it looks. I promise!

Serves: 8 Squares of Cornbread Casserole

Serving Size: 1 Square of Cornbread Casserole

Calories: 482

Fat: 16 g

Carbohydrates: 52 g

Protein: 33 g

If you make any changes to your Cornbread Casserole, you can recalculate the nutrition facts at myfitnesspal.com. You can use an online recipe calculator/divider to get the right ingredients for the amount you want if the yield is too large or too small.

Cornbread Casserole Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground meat (beef, chicken, turkey, venison, etc...)
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1/2 bell pepper, chopped (any color)
  • 2 teaspoons of cumin
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons of chili powder
  • 15 ounces of sweet corn, drained
  • 15 ounces of black beans drained and rinsed
  • 12 ounces of mild salsa
  • 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 cups of self-rising cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 1/3 cup of milk
  • 1 large egg
Cornbread Casserole without Cornbread and Cheese Topping by Amanda Payne

Getting It Done:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  2. In a skillet over medium-high heat, fry the ground hamburger meat along with the onions and peppers.
  3. Remove from heat, drain the excess grease, and add the cumin, chili powder, corn, salsa, and black beans. Stir and heat for a couple of minutes.
  4. Mix the cornmeal, vegetable oil, milk, and egg together in a bowl.
  5. Pour the meat mixture into a 9″ x 13″ casserole dish. Top it evenly with the cornbread mixture.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes. Sprinkle cheddar cheese over the top. Bake for 5 more minutes, just long enough to melt the cheese.

For this batch, I used Martha White self-rising white cornmeal. Sometimes I like to use Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix. It just depends on the mood my taste buds are in. Both are awesome but very different. I am sure it would be good with any type of cornmeal.

I use a large spoon to spread the batter. One spoonful at a time, I place it evenly on the meat mixture. Then I gently spread it out wherever it may need it. It gets better distributed this way, but keep in mind, it doesn’t have to look perfect.

Once the casserole is done, cut it down the center, then cut it three times across, making eight even squares. This goes great with a side salad or rice.

For this recipe, I used venison, but if you do not have venison, you can use beef, chicken, turkey, or any other type of meat that you prefer or have on hand. You can also add more or different veggies and use whatever cheese you like.

To reheat, place the dish of leftovers on the countertop for about an hour. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Make sure it was cut into squares. This will allow the center to heat without overcooking the edges. Cover the dish with aluminum foil. Reheat for about 20 minutes or until heated well. The temperature in the middle should be at least 165°F. You can also use the microwave, but the cornbread may become too moist.

I hope you enjoy my recipe! Sharing is caring, so please share my recipe if you like it. I appreciate your support very much.

Cornbread Casserole by Amanda Payne

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some recent recipes that you might enjoy: Tamale Pie, Venison Taco Stew, and Venison Stuffing Bake.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This Cornbread Casserole recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Subscribe if you want my recipes to appear in your feed. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
4

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.