Feast logo

Cooking With Happiness

Food For The Soul

By Shelly BartleyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photograph by: Alyson Mcphee

I started made a new tradition with my dad some years ago. He always liked how I made my chicken. He also liked the random recipes that I would come up with. I decided one year to start another recipe. This recipe was a different way of making chicken and noodles. This is not a really difficult recipe to make at all. I would just take whatever favor of Ramen noodles that I had bought and cook them. After I separated the noodles from the broth I would fry up some boneless skinless chicken breasts. While cooking the chicken I would add a little soul food seasoning. Next would be a few pinches of garlic powder but not so much that it would overpower the meal. The last seasoning would be the seasoned meat tenderizer. The seasons are changeable according to how the cook likes it.

After making sure that the chicken was fully cooked I would then cut it up into tiny square pieces. Along with this, I would slice up a tomato. In another pan, I would fry up some buttered seasoned mushrooms. The noodles would get spread out on a large plate. The chicken would be added with two thin slices of tomatoes on top. The mushrooms would then be cut up and spread out on the plate. If the cooker prefers to cut or slice the mushrooms up before cooking that is fine too. Some home-made garlic bread would be made and placed on a separate smaller plate. Every time that I made this meal I would do the recipe a little different unless asked for a specific way. I would place the chicken and noodles mixture over the bread to make it a sandwich. Another way that I did this meal was by adding some dressing or gravy over the top. The tomatoes were not always the same either. Sometimes instead of the tomato being just a regular red tomato, I would make some fried green tomatoes to add into the mixture.

There would be times that I would add a little spiciness to it by adding jalapenos or something a little less hot. I always cooked some cauliflower or another vegetable to also put over the top of the chicken and noodle ingredients. Sometimes the vegetable that would be made would be breaded to give the food a little extra something. Any vegetables are useable that the cook wants to be added. I added these ingredients because they were what my dad and I liked. Seasoned potatoes go very nicely with this dish as well.

The leftover ingredients are good to make another meal. I would recommend using all the leftover ingredients within the next couple of days so that they do not go bad on you. The ingredients that get used and made depends on how many people will be eating the meal. If you would prefer to separate part of some of the cooked items to put aside for another meal before adding them all together there will still be plenty left for the meal now being made at the moment.

If you would like a dessert to make for after this meal the decision is up to the cook. Any dessert is good to go with this meal. If the decision to use fried green tomatoes on the meal a decision then I would recommend only using that recipe when the fried green tomatoes are in season. Just the chicken and noodles ingredient could make a full meal. If there is a lot of people eating the meal I would recommend making more items and more ingredients. The cook can tell by taste if the items are just right.

A drink that goes good with this meal is a hot cup of tea. Any drink will go good with the meal I just personally like the decaffeinated tea. The next time you have a family meal try this recipe. It makes a very delicious meal. This meal is for any time of the day or night. It can even be made for breakfast if the cooker likes it that way.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Shelly Bartley

From a very young age, I have always written anything from poetry to books. Enjoy painting and other arts. Have written a few songs and short stories to.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.