Feast logo

Coffee Addicts: Latin America/Mexico

If your a coffee addict like me then you have tried at least one of these flavors if not then you don't know what your missing.

By Mrs. LearningPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Half of the world is waking up every morning and walking over to the nearest coffee shop or heading over to their coffee machine. Or if you're like me, your so lazy you drive to the closest drive-thru.

I'm even drinking coffee at this moment but it's not just the coffee that keeps me coming back to it. It's the flavors added into the coffee, caramel, chocolate, vanilla, mocha, french vanilla, pumpkin, etc.

I'll be giving my personal opinion on what are the best coffee flavors to try. Now automatically I can tell you the flavors I'm not a fan of but the list will be small because there's only one... It's mocha, there I said it. Haha.

COLUMBIAN

OMG! I love, love, love Columbian coffee. Who's had Columbian coffee before? Show up hands... exactly half of you. The other half is missing the rich, mild favor which will open your eyes to new possibilities.

Need more convincing? A blog writer name Bryanna wrote an article back in 2014 explaining the reason why Columbia coffee is so tasty.

"There are two types of coffee beans in the world: Arabica and Robusta. Arabica beans tend to be slightly sweeter with a softer taste, but are also more acidic while Robusta has a stronger taste and is considered the lower-quality bean. Robusta also contains two times the amount of caffeine as Arabica beans. Colombia is one of the few countries that only grows Arabica beans, which besides climate and elevation, is why Colombian coffee is considered higher quality."

If your not big on caffeine, Columbian coffee also makes it decaf.

Curious? Want to try Columbian coffee? Try: https://www.amazon.com/Colombian-Coffee/s?k=Colombian+Coffe

Coffee Facts: "400 billions of coffee is consumed in the world while 450 cups of coffee are consumed in the United States."

VANILLA

I like to call Vanilla, a playing it safe kind of flavor because when you taste it, it's not overpowering. It's actually very soothing. A quick fun fact about Vanilla is it comes from Papantla, Mexico! Yes, I'm aware Mexico isn't Latin American, I'm Mexican so take it easy. But what you can't deny is the smooth vanilla flavor. I always like getting Skinny, Vanilla Coffe from Starbucks, and French Vanilla pretty much from any brand.

Curious? Want to try Vanilla coffee? Try:

Coffee Facts: "Despite what you may believe, dark-roast coffee has less caffeine than coffee that's been lightly roasted."

BRAZILIAN

I've never tried Brazilian coffee but after researching Robusta makes only 30% of the coffee produced in Brazil. Robusta is a low-quality coffee but very easy to care for and to produce.

It's getting to the point where I'm tempted to try the one at Starbucks. They just sell the coffee beans that are sold on their website but I can already tell the taste may not be the same. I'll be sure to update this column once I've tried Brazilian coffee!

Curious? Want to try Brazilian coffee? Try: https://www.coffeecupnews.org/brazilian-coffee

Coffee Facts: "About half of the people in the United States over the age of 18 (that's 107 million) drink coffee every day. On average, each coffee drinker consumes three and a half cups each day."

COSTA RICAN

Costa Rica!!! I was interning at a television studio in Chicago and as an intern, I had to clean out the coffee pot and make a fresh batch of coffee beans. I was provided two options, regular coffee (blah lol) or Costa Rican coffee. First off my eyes widen because I had no idea this small tv studio even had this as an option. I prepared a batch of Costa Rican coffee and it was so smooth and refreshing to try. It didn't taste like coffee, if that makes sense, it had a crisp flavor. Anyways I was happy to change the coffee pot and put Costa Rican coffee. The employees didn't even know this existed since they only tried regular coffee. You can say I got them addicted to it.

Curious? Want to try Costa Rican coffee? Try: https://www.walmart.com/ip/The-Coffee-Bean-Tea-Leaf-Costa-Rica-Medium-Roast-Ground-Coffee-12-oz-Bag/32984884?wmlspartner=wlpa&selectedSellerId=0

PERU

I can't say I tried a versatile coffee bean from Peru but as a few others, I'm tempted to try. I will update this section once I do so but here's a perfect description of the flavor from coffeebeandirect.com.

"Much like other South and Central American coffees, this varietal has a slightly nutty flavor quality, but is just a touch softer."

I'm invested to taste that nutty flavor.

CONCLUSION

You can't deny the exciting flavors from Latin America or Mexico! I have a big love for coffee but trying new coffee from different countries is a whole new level I'm willing to try!

Next on Coffee Addicts: Southern Africa!

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Mrs. Learning

I provide my POV of different topics and experience along with what I've learned and still learning.

Disclaimer: This information is not intended as a substitute for professional medical advice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.