Feast logo

Coca-Cola Starlight: Yeah, It's Good

Listen, I was surprised too, but hell if it ain't yummy.

By Delise FantomePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2022
12
Coca-Cola Creations, Limited Edition Starlight, the background a gradient of purple to pink with stars swooping from middle left to upper right corner

Coca-Cola is doling out a new line of limited edition flavors, the first one being the Coke Starlight. A cute little can in an ombre of red and purple, with a ribbon of black towards the bottom of the can and some speckled stars. The iconic, classic logo is still there of course, but there is no doubt Coca-Cola is reaching for the stars with their new concepts.

Starlight debuted last month as the first flavor from their new Creations development program. The program comes as Coca-Cola is trying new ways to keep relevant to younger audiences and increase sales among the younger demographic in the country- I don't know what they're trying so hard for, as long as they keep making Monsters they'll have us all by the throats. Nevertheless, a press release from the soft drink giant says that Starlight is the first in a series intended to engage younger audiences by with "products and experiences across digital and physical worlds." Creations is one part of their first new brand platform in five years, titled "Real Magic." The purpose, as stated by Chief Marketing Officer Manolo Arroyo, ". . . is about creating a movement to choose more human ways of doing things by embracing our unique perspectives." The goal, Arroyo explains is to grow the consumer base by focusing shared experiences via meal times, typically a time for family or friends to gather and talk about the goings-on in their lives.

I won't lie to you I find it a bit strange that their purpose for this global platform is to focus on community and unique experiences and the first two products scheduled to roll out for this are based on "space" and "virtual reality." But whatever it's delicious and I'm not going to argue with the few little pleasures I have in this life. Well, I will if they screw this whole thing up, like they did with clear Coke . . . yeah, bet you don't remember that do you? (Neither do I . . . I wasn't cognizant for that but I looked it up and it's funny.)

There's a new can design, a new flavor, and they even went ahead and changed up the classic cola brown color. Now, should you choose to pour out your soda from a can into a glass (like some kind of dweeb), the cherry red color will make you wonder, "Why the hell didn't they pick this color for Cherry Coke?"

Regardless! It's cute, and . . . man, I just really like the flavor. A new addition of "fruit and vegetable juices for color" is what creates the red hue plus an added a twist to the flavor. What I love most about Starlight, however, is the aftertaste that I can't quite put my finger on (sort of like vanilla, but not), and it gives it a velvet mouthfeel. That mouthfeel makes me want to keep sipping, and every time I come to the end of my little 7.5 oz can, I will admit to pouting a little.

Drinking Coca-Cola Starlight makes me wish I was sipping at this can in the cool darkness of Disney World's Space Mountain queue line, passing by the star systems. I want to drink this underneath the night sky of Olympic National Park, lightly shuffling a tarot deck and poorly attempting a star chart. I want to skip along that Piezoelectric walkway in Kennedy Space Center, a sip of velvet Coke for every step that lights up. I want to share a bottle of this with a friend while we look up old grunge rock concerts on Youtube, laying on the fluffiest blanket I own in my living room and eating dorayakis.

I want YOU, to try Coca-Cola Starlight today.

Hey! Did you enjoy this article? Then you might enjoy me waxing poetic about paletas here! And if you really enjoyed this article, consider sharing or leaving a tip! Thanks, have a good one!

cuisine
12

About the Creator

Delise Fantome

I write about Halloween, music, movies, and more! Boba tea and cheesecake are my fuel. Let's talk about our favorite haunts and movies on Twitter @ThrillandFear

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Karrie G2 years ago

    I tried it and was pleasant surprised. As a teen, I would always add a spritz or two of cream soda to my coca cola in 7-11 and this new Starlight drink immediately transported me back to my youth. That's the closest flavour example I could give.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.