Feast logo

Chocolate bleeding mice Halloween treat

My mother's recipes we decided to share

By Rose Henderson-DavisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Chocolate bleeding mice Halloween treat !

Do you need an amazing Halloween treat idea that will just blow everyone away? A crafty but easy Halloween party pleaser ! Chocolate mice are absolutely delicious and probably my favorite Halloween treat ! Personal opinion but happens to be backed up by a lot of my friends and family so we decided to share. I say "we" meaning my Mom and I. My mom gets credit for these recipes I'm writing for you all and she was happy to allow me to share in this story ! She even helped as we were making them and I was taking pictures and sending my the recipe after for this story. I think my mom is awesome by the way just throwing that in there. The bodies recipes can also be used to make ball, bites, or other shapes for anytime or any event or occasion even formal events to afternoon snacks for the kids!

Semi sweet chocolate or white chocolate recipe and they "bleed" for that extra creepy Halloween effect.

For the tails you can use pull licorice separated into three strip chunks and cut at three tiered lengths then twist. Tootsie rolls rolled out thinner and longer make great tails as well. For ears use almond slices. Eyes can be made from a number of candies. We used Redhots for this batch. Outer can be made to look hairy by rolling in cookie crumbs ( we prefer using Oreo pie crusts broken into crumbs) or dried coconut flakes. The blood is red syrup of any flavor such as strawberry syrup injected into the center of the edible mice. The bodies are made with the recipes below and then chilled until firm and shaped by making egg sized ovals and making one end smaller and pinched a bit to look like a mouse nose shape. The recipes for the bodies are recipes of my mother's that she made from inspiration from a "too sweet for us" recipe.

Recipes for bodies:

To make semi-sweet Chocolate mice bodies : 4 0z semi-sweet chocolate, 1/3 cup sour cream, 1 cup Oreo crumbs ( Plus another 1/3 cup or more for rolling formed mice in for fur look ) Mix and chill until firm enough to form.

To make white Chocolate mice bodies : 4 oz white chocolate, 1/3 cup sour cream, 1 cup graham crumbs or shredded coconut flakes ( plus some for rolling in for fur look ) Mix and chill until firm enough to form.

Store in a plastic storage container in the refrigerator. Eat within a week I'd say but may stay good longer not that they usually last long enough to find out.

You can inject the red syrup "blood" using a common injector. Or I also use a small pointed tool such as a chop stick to poke a hole into the swirl a little to make a space inside the I use an old medicine squirting syringe to push the syrup in. You can use other syrups for other occasions with other shapes such as chocolate or caramel filled hearts for weddings and so much more with these versatile recipes of my mother's.

Variation ideas for Halloween as well as ideas for other occasions:

1) You can make fake poop from chocolate recipe and add nuts for effect. Just form the chilled bodies recipe and shape into long round strips and then swirl them in a circle with the inside point poking up like a fake poop emoji.

2) Heart shapes from either bodies recipe. They can fill with any flavor filling you like. You can also roll them in cookie crumbs or coconut flakes to make an assortment tray.

3) Use the white chocolate bodies recipe to make snowball treats and roll in coconut flakes. These can also be filled of course. I love the peppermint white chocolate for use with snowballs shapes or other Holidays shaped treats.

Tips: If the bodies dough starts getting to sticky to form properly just put it back in the refrigerator for a bit to get firm again. I usually take out just part of the dough at a time leaving the rest to stay chilled as a form some of it.

I would like to thank my mother again for letting me share this with everyone. I hope you all have a great time with these fun party treat ideas and please feel free to Share this article for others. I do not write many food stories, usually I stick to garden stories. These recipes are just too awesome to not want to share at this time of year especially. There are so many variations that could be done with these recipes I shared just a few but your imagination is your limit with these so have fun !

Remember to please wash hands before starting food preparations especially hand formed treats that will be served to guests. You may also want to keep long hair tied back or covered and wear a mask while preparing treats for guests as precaution for our current Covid situation. Please use caution with any social events or gatherings. Have a great Halloween !

recipe
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.