Feast logo

Chic-Fil-A: The million-dollar meal

There really is no price to be put upon a memorable occasion.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
3

CHICK-FILA- NexT

On December 18, 2015, my husband Michael and I went to a local mall. He had just received the money he was going to use for Christmas so we decided to go shopping. The first stop was Zales jewelers where he purchased me a diamond necklace and matching earrings. He wanted to get me the matching ring later but our finances took a downturn and he was not able to do it. On this day, however, we were walking hand in hand and after we finished shopping he asked if I would like to eat at Chic-Fil-A.

We went inside and sat down and enjoyed a meal where he ate a chicken sandwich and I had the waffle fries. This was not a five-star restaurant and neither was it an expensive meal as my spouse only spent about $10.00 total. This meal was worth its weight in gold, however, because it was the last time we would ever eat out together. It had been a while since we had eaten outside of our home and I told Michael this meant more to me than if he had taken me to an expensive venue. I told him how much I appreciated his buying me the jewelry and inviting me to eat.

For couples who eat out on a regular basis, a lunch at Chic-Fil-A probably seems trivial but it was actually worth more to me than a million dollars. Had Michael and I in our later years eaten away from home a lot and money was not an object there would have been no way to see this moment in time as something precious. Because during the past few years we had to cut corners, do without, and stay home when we wanted to go out we appreciated this date so much more.

I had been taking notice that people our age were passing away and there were widows and widowers being left behind. A couple whose wedding we had been a part of in 1978 both had died. She was in her late 40s and he was in his mid-50s. It seemed like only yesterday we were going to the movies with them and practicing for the wedding and now they were gone. This was a sobering reality and I gave thanks every day that we were still alive and with each other.

I was seeing more people in our age range riding in the motorized carts in the grocery store, or using walkers, wheelchairs, or canes. Our generation was aging and some dying and I was grateful to have the activity of my limbs and also to have my spouse with me. Tomorrow is not promised so I decided to be thankful for the small things each day. I had a husband, he had some money and chose to spend it on me. He also decided to take me to lunch and he did not have to do either.

If you can choose to go out to eat whenever and wherever you desire with no thought of money this is a good thing. Please, however, do not allow the amount of money you spend to be the determining factor in how good a time you had. I sat in Chick-Fil-A on December 18, 2015, and enjoyed myself on a $10.00 meal as if it had cost a million dollars. I actually told my husband that dinner in an expensive restaurant could never mean as much to me as lunch that day.

We had days where we fed our children and missed meals. When you go to bed not knowing if you will be able to eat breakfast the next morning it makes you grateful for the small things. When we were prospering financially I did not give eating out a second thought but only when I no longer had the choice did I realize I had taken it for granted. I had no idea that 5 1/2 short years later my husband would pass away but perhaps on some level, I did. He may even have thought I was being extra by gushing over a simple meal at Chic-Fil-A.

By Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

I was just so happy to be able to be with him and enjoy his presence that I wanted him to know that he did not need to impress me by taking me to a "fine eating establishment." Still today I am thankful for that last meal outside of the house. After that, the only time we ate away from the house was at our daughter's for Christmas and two wedding receptions we attended in 2018.

Finances dictated that we ate at home, got takeout, or ordered Door Dash. I had thought the Chic-Fil-A meal was a sign that we might get to go out more often but his health issues and later COVID decided for us. To all the married people reading this I suggest you be grateful for whatever you can do with your spouse because tomorrow is not promised. Make the most of every memory so that you will have fond ones and no regrets. In the early days of my 45 years with Michael if someone had told me I would feel blessed to eat at Chic-Fil-A I would have laughed.

When I wore diamonds on almost every finger, had furs and the latest fashion in clothing I always told him thank you for what he got me. That day at Chic-Fil-A, for me, however, was probably how most people felt going out again after COVID. It was simply a joy to be able to do so and I am so thankful for the memory. Whoever said quality is better than quantity knew what they were talking about. Thirty minutes of quality time in Chic-Fil-A was worth its weight in gold to me.

restaurants
3

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.