Feast logo

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Your Taste Buds Will Thank Me

By Sweet NothingsPublished 5 years ago โ€ข 3 min read
Like
Photo by Emily Wilson

Everyone knows writers are insomniacs, and insomniacs love their nighttime snacks. After all... a cup of warm milk is a lot better when accompanied with a warm chocolatey treat running down your throat and settling into your stomach, giving you that sensational feeling of completion.

Wait... ๐Ÿ‘€๐Ÿ‘€

My best ideas usually come with monstrous cravings, usually for something sweet.

This week I decided to go to an old friend, a player whose always considered a class act, and welcome always to the function.

Enjoyed either hard or soft. Wait... ๐Ÿ‘€.

Chocolate chip cookies are usually the fall back of any self respecting snack lover. You got the chocolate, you got the pastry. These cookies here also have a little tang with the salty and sweetness.

Stay with me.

So I decided to share a recipe for one of my all time favorite night time snacks.

Any time snacks really.

Chocolate Chip Cookies!

These chocolate chip cookies will be the highlight of the night. I would (and usually do try to) double the batch. These go very quickly!

So let's get into why you really clicked, you hungry sleep deprived zombie.

Let's start with what you NEED.

Dry Ingredients:

  • ~2 cups of flour,

**plus extra as needed

(I like using half oat flour to cut down on the gluten. You can use all whole oats if you'd like, they come out just as amazing. You just grind whole oats in a blender until fine in consistency)

  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup milk Chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

*Note: I put our sugars in the wet ingredients because it will be getting mixed with the liquid ingredients.

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup raw sugar (You can use granulated white sugar or whatever sugar you have available. I don't recommend powder sugar, but if ya do it... please let me know how it goes) ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜…
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/8 cup orange juice

Now, the orange juice is just going to bring in a little bit of a... mmm! and in my opinion, it makes the cookie really soft with a crazy dope flavor.

  • Orange zest (or zest a citrus of your choice) to taste
  • 1/8 cup coconut oil melted but not hot

So the fun part. Putting it together ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Step 1: In a mixing bowl combine your egg, sugars, coconut oil, vanilla and orange juice. Blend until thoroughly mixed. I prefer to use a hand mixer. Of course you can mix by hand just as well, just be sure to be thorough.

Step 2: Add zest generously and gently incorporate

Step 3: In a separate mixing bowl. Sift together baking soda, salt, and flour. You can also just mix very thoroughly with a fork or whisk. You just want to have as close to an even distribution as possible.

Step 4: Combine wet and dry ingredients until dough barely forms a ball.

Step 5: Add chocolate chips and incorporate thoroughly into your dough by folding the dough into itself a few times. Careful not to over-knead.

Step 6: Add excess flour as needed until your dough forms a soft ball that is no longer sticky.

Step 7: Bake your favorite form of cookie, whether it be cake, pizza, balls, discs, the classic cookie shape or some other awesome variation. Just be sure to let me know how they turned out.

I like my food like I like my books and films; with a good twist. These cookies aren't the only thing that's gotten a #reciperevamp. Keep an eye out for more of my delicious creations coming soon. If your watering mouth cant wait that long, feel free to reach out to me through social media on IG @1202DueceLee, and if you happen to, tag me in a photo let me know what you did or didn't enjoy about these cookies or recipes you'd like to see me try and revamp.

Photo by Emily Wilson on Unsplash

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Sweet Nothings

Alias Duece Lee Vizzini III

Now, Sweet Nothings, my blog is a sanctuary for love notes and human emotion. Each post is a step toward telling my own intricate, beautifully imperfect story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.