Feast logo

Cheesies off Belmont

The food place I have cherished for the past 8 years!

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
4
My mouth is watering as I type...

Amidst the hustle and bustle of Lakeview, right off the Belmont red line stop, lies a shining delicacy of all things cheese.

Ladies and gentleman, I would like to introduce you to my addiction: Cheesies.

Ana Rodriguez: Google Photos

For those who know me, this restaurant is what I label "food royalty". It is a grilled cheese place that offers a variety of delicious spins on this traditional comfort food.

I can't believe I get to talk about the absolute love of my life right now!! I rate this place 5/5 stars!!

-Kyra, the author

My friends have seen me circle the ever allusive Cheesies food truck like a hyena whenever it has popped up in my neighborhood. Being a nutcase, I have taken so many photos of the truck from my bedroom window while running out of my house to place an order.

Basically, I have made a complete fool out of myself for this spot... so let's get into why I need to yell its name into the sky!

The Importance of Cheese:

Cheesies has truly seen me grow up. Everyone groans when I get the chance to pick a place to eat in Chicago, because they know where my ideas are headed. Without question, I point the way towards the city's northside for my usual pick.

Regardless of my aorta warning me to chill out, this restaurant has seen me inhale mac and cheese bites over an 8 year span. I probably won't stop going until it closes it's doors.

Lucky for me, I have attended this restaurant without the fear of lactose intolerance or some sinister stomach issue being given to me as penance for my choices. It truly baffles my social circles how many times I come to dine without consequence. Yet, this obsession with Cheesies is actually a tad embarassing.

Those walls filled with cheese themed paintings have been through almost every one of my milestones. I have visited this restaurant consistently throughout my high school and college career, and I am so proud to rep this local spot!

This place has seen me as a dorky 16 year old, coming in to order while working as a pool attendent off Lake Shore. The employees have witnessed my tears after a failed exam, and watched me stuff my face with their "Frenchie" grilled cheese. On my 21st birthday, I have stuffed my veins to capacity with their ranch dip.

The legacy of Cheesies has been extremely significant for my life. I have taken many friends here, went on some dates here, and even reflected on important life decisions in their wooden booths. Needless to say, this place is a landmark for the life of Kyra.

What to Expect at Cheesies:

When you step off the redline, you get a lovely view of Chicago's neighborhoods from the elevated platform. There are so many lights, people moving, and the famous character of Boystown shines through. It is a restaurant nestled in between nightclubs and small shops, decorated with the black and orange symbols of a greasy dive.

Cheesies is a hidden gem, and you have to know where to look in order to find it.

Their locations are strictly in Chicago, with only two restaurants in Lakeview and Wicker Park. Lakeview is the OG spot, so I always choose that for dining. Sometimes, if you're lucky, you can spot their food truck around the city or even find their pickup location on Uber Eats in the Loop.

If you go to their Belmont location, you can sit by the large open windows facing the street or tuck yourself into the bar area for more privacy.

Looking at the menu, you will definitely find a hefty variety of grilled cheeses to choose from. These options can include some pretty interesting toppings, so you really won't be bored! The grilled cheese ingredients can vary, from french fries to chorizo, so you have many ways to ruin your healthy eating streak in one go. These grilled cheeses are cooked on Texas toast...which means they are thick and fluffy. Exactly how it should be, in my opinion.

Each grilled cheese is just...mouth watering, with delicious sauces to dip in! The also offer delectable mac and cheese bites , french fries, and chili on the side as well!

FYI: Cheesies just added on a pizza shop in Lakeview, and it includes some similar items to the types of grilled cheeses they serve! Suprisingly, I haven't tried this out yet. Nevertheless, I am willing to give it a shot alongside my grilled cheese order!

My Menu Recommendations: ❤️

Without fail, I always get "the Mac" with a side of ranch!

This sandwich has homemade mac & cheese, with some american and cheddar cheeses stuffed between two fluffy slices of bread.

My pic: the famous choice!

For the full menu, please check them out using the link below! >>>

Hope to see you there!

Google Photo Reviews

feature
4

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.