Feast logo

Calling All Food Junkies

Dinner's Ready!

By Hannah MeadePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
8

Food is the one common thing all people enjoy. We all have to eat, right?

There's such diversity between different regions of the world when it comes to food. There's a different dish for every occasion and every style of eating.

I find it exciting to try new restaurants and diners wherever I am at.

I recently moved to Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Now, don't underestimate the power of a town in the midwest. I haven't tried too many restaurants yet, but there have been a few that I've been to more than once.

I'm going to outline the yummiest day of food in town, all the way from breakfast to dessert.

First up, breakfast.

Breakfast: Brueggers Bagels

This is an actual bagel from Brueggers

I have loved bagels all my life, they are a great breakfast staple. A toasted blueberry bagel with plain cream cheese. That's my go-to order.

Fair not, there are many more options at Brueggers.

My boyfriend's favorite is the Farmhouse. 2 eggs, peppered-bacon slices, ham, cheddar cheese, and country pepper cream cheese all toasted on a cheesy hash brown bagel.

There are bagels for the sweet tooth, like myself, and for the savory. They have coffee and sometimes muffins in their case as well.

A great start to the day, in my opinion.

Lunch: Capriottis

Local people know what's so special about this place; two words. The Bobbie.

Can confirm; It's delicious

This sandwich is like Thanksgiving leftover deliciousness in your mouth. Stu ffing, shredded turkey, cranberries, and mayonnaise.

Few things; I prefer it without mayonnaise and warmed up.

No matter what time of the year it is, this sandwich is the perfect time traveling machine to the joys of Thanksgiving.

I don't know about you, but I want Thanksgiving food more than once a year.

Multiple sandwiches have been named the best in the nation by Food reviewers, so don't count out the other Phillys and Cheesesteaks they also have!

Dinner: Granite City

This is a slightly pricier option, but worth it nonetheless.

I usually start out with their Granity City dip with waffle fries. I was skeptical at first because I am 100% a picky eater, but this dip won me over. I could eat just this appetizer for my meal and be perfectly content.

They have anything from soups, salads, burgers, flatbreads, slider towers, steak, to seafood options.

The chicken pot pie is phenomenal.

Pair all of that with a Moscow mule and I'm in heaven.

Dessert, my favorite

I am an ice cream gal, through and through. Dairy Queen and Coldstone are my two favorites.

Wanting to be a little healthier, I have started obsessing over Orange Leaf Frozen Yogurt instead.

My mouth is watering

Don't ever underestimate the power of a good frozen yogurt. As an ice cream connoisseur, I am very impressed.

There are around 10 different flavors to choose from, ranging from Brownie Batter (a personal favorite) to cake better to peanut butter.

Now, don't even get me started on the number of toppings to choose from.

Oreos. Strawberry boba. Turtles. Cheesecake bites. M&Ms. Peanut butter cups. Fresh strawberries. Chocolate syrup. Caramel syrup. Chocolate chips. OH MY.

This. This plan is my perfect food day.

I hope, if you live around the area, you can try these places!

I am so excited to read about everyone's favorite local places to eat around their areas.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my Cedar Rapids favorites, feel free to send me a heart if you enjoyed reading!

A tip is never a requirement, but if you do tip, it is greatly appreciated.

As always, let me know what you thought. Thank you, fellow foodies.

restaurants
8

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.