Feast logo

Buffalo Chicken Taquitos

Easy Appetizer

By Abigail BrookePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Buffalo chicken dip!! My youth group leader was the first person to ever introduce this dip to me. She always brought it to game nights or to youth group, and always had it made up when we had special movie and game nights at her house. I love hot things. That is something I definitely get from my dad, and if you read my story "Perfect Dough Every Time," you know that I love chicken. I also have a thing for that cheesy goodness, so this dip is literally everything I've ever loved, all mixed together.

As you know, for the sake of word count, I tell stories. If you want the recipe, scroll on down.

I stumbled over taquitos from this lady I follow on Instagram, she's a foodie and ALWAYS goes to this Mexican place to get taquitos.

So, I go to a—well how do I say this... um—hillbilly church. Its full of hunters, backyard BBQ lovers, outdoorsy, fishing, camo-covered rednecks. Coming from a church that girls had to wear only dresses and guys couldn't wear jeans—where if you moved at all during the service, you got called out by the elders—to this was quite the surprise. Our first day at the church, everyone just moves around how they please, and even during the service, someone will stand up and yell "common brother" or "thank you Jesus." Lets just say it was quite the experience. We've been at this church for about eight years now. I've always loved fishing and the outdoors, I loved BBQ food but the only things that are really "new" with me is that I hunt now. And I could probably care less how I look most the time. I've completely stopped wearing makeup and most of the time I let my hair go natural. If you know me… you know I have VERY fluffy, curly hair. Not to say that I still love dressing up. Sometimes I'll wear makeup and wear something fancy, but jeans and a t-shirt now is what I've become lol.

Okay back to taquitos, wow. So my "hillbilly church" has this "wild game dinner" they put on every year, and this year I made elk taquitos.

Everyone was trying to find the person who made them (as well as my famous mashed potatoes) and once people found out who made them, they couldn't stop asking me to cook for them and for their up coming parties.

SO when I came across these buffalo chicken dip taquitos, you bet your sweet butt I fell to the ground, got back up and made them. Long story short, my family loved them, and I make them often for parties. They are a great appetizer, but I've served them as a whole mean before with a side of rice and beans

This recipe is made for big groups. If you serve with a big tortilla, you can feed 24, I tend to cut mine in half if they are being served as appetizers.

Ingredients:

1 pkg cream cheese 8oz (softened)

1/2 cup ranch dressing

1/2 cup buffalo sauce

1 rotisserie chicken (shedded) (or 3 chicken breasts cooked & shredded)

1 cup shredded cheese

24 tortillas

non-stick spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450.

Spray pan with non-stick spray, set aside.

In a large bowl mix softened cream cheese, ranch dressing, buffalo sauce, until well combined.

Add chicken and shredded cheese into the cream cheese mixture.

Lay one tortilla down add one large spoonful of the chicken mixture, spread thinly from one side to the other.

Roll tightly around the chicken mixture, place seam side down on the baking pan.

Continue this for the rest of the tortillas.

Generously spray tops of each tortilla with non-stick cooking spray.

Bake for 10 minutes, flip tortillas and cook for an additional 5 minutes (or until golden brown).

Serve with ranch, salsa, guacamole, sour cream, or a cheese sauce.

diy
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Brooke

I found this place to get the thoughts out of my head

oh…and I love food!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.