Feast logo

Brownie Truffles and Flower Pot Cookie Cups

Small sweets with big tastes!

By Ari hollowayPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
7

As I'm sure you can guess I've been doing a lot of baking recently. One of my favorite baking activities is experimenting with new recipes, which is how I found two recipes that have been big with friends and family, Cake Batter Bites and Cheesy Chicken and Dumplings.

The Cake Batter Bites were an experiment to see if there was a way to make them without having to go through the process of crumbling a cake and mixing it with buttercream. I found a perfect combination in mixing cake mix with butter. It still has the same consistency as a cake pop with a nice buttery flavor.

Now as much as I love the taste of cake I wondered if there were other mixes that would work with this new process. So I decided to try it with brownie mix and... It was amazing!! Just like the cake mix, it gives it a small hint of buttery taste but to me the chocolate flavor makes it melt in your mouth.

Now, with that in mind let's get to the recipe!

Brownie Truffles:

Ingredients:

Brownie Dough:

1 - box brownie mix

1/2 c. unsalted butter, melted

2-3 tbsp. vegetable shortening

Decoration:

12 oz. candy Melts or chips of your choice

vegetable shortening

Preparation:

In a large bowl mix together the brownie batter and butter until just combined. Add in the vegetable shortening and continue mixing until completely mixed in.

Using a spoon or scoop, roll the mixture into balls and refrigerate*. While the balls chill melt the candy melts or chips in the microwave in 15 sec. intervals.

Once completely melted, use a stick or fork to dip the balls into the candy melt. Repeat until all balls are covered and let sit until they are completely set.

Serve immediately or store in an airtight container in the fridge or freezer.

Enjoy!!

This next recipe was inspired by some holiday videos I've been seeing on Instagram and Tiktok, small brownies decorated with frosting to look like little trees and bushes.

Now don't get me wrong you can't go wrong with brownies and frosting in my book, but I wondered if there was a way to change it up a little. Then it popped into my head, Cookie Cakes!

I'm sure you've seen them at your local grocery store by the bakery, giant chocolate chip cookies decorated with frosting and candies. They're always a huge hit around the house and so I thought I'd make some cookie cupcakes!

Flower Pot Cookie Cups

Ingredients:

Cookie Cups:

1 - 24 pack cookie dough

candy melt coating (see recipe above)

Buttercream:

1/4 c. (1/2 stick) unsalted butter

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 tbsp. vegetable shortening

Preparation:

Begin by pressing the cookie dough pieces into a mini muffin pan. Bake for 10 minutes or until the cookies are just beginning to brown on the edges. Set aside and cool.

Melt the candy melts or chips according to the recipe above. Dip each cup into the coating and twist, making sure the bottoms are coated. Set upside down on cooling rack or plate until set.

In a large bowl or stand mixer, cream the butter until soft. Add in the powdered sugar and beat until fluffy. Add in the vanilla extract and beat until combined.

If you're wanting to add a little color, I would suggest using gel colors as they can help to keep your frosting from separating.

If the frosting is too thick for spreading or piping add in milk or cream a drop at a time until it reaches the desired consistency.

Fill a piping bag fitted with your desired tip and decorate your cookies. To me this buttercream was perfect for decorating the cookies, it held its shape and kept its color beautifully.

Notes:

When dipping the cookie cups in the coating, you may want to use gloves. I dipped each one by hand and it could get a little messy at times.

Gel colors are always great for making buttercream or some heavier frostings because they don't add as much liquid. This can help it keep its consistency and prevent it from breaking.

I actually learned that if your frosting does break, you can heat it up and whisk or mix it until it combines again. Once it seems to be solid again remove from heat and stir until it cools down a bit.

I hope that you enjoy these recipes and have fun making your own flower pots!

If you'd like to keep up to date on new posts click here.

I'm also trying to add some videos for some of my recipes on YouTube.

Thanks for reading!

recipe
7

About the Creator

Ari holloway

Hi there! I enjoy baking and sewing and thought I'd share some ideas and projects.

Facebook Author Page

Insta: ari.holloway.vocal

Youtube: https://youtube.com/channel/UCL8NaeUoIbdicH6p2gXMs3g

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    These sound tasty. I have some leftover mint melts and that might work well to coat the brownie batter bites.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.