Feast logo

Breakfast for Champions!

The perfect bite!

By Paige Turner Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Breakfast for Champions!
Photo by Casey DeViese on Unsplash

I loved summer! I longed for it!

Every year on the last day of school I couldn’t wait to finally be free from homework, the pencils, the teachers and especially the monotonous day to day tasks.

Every summer since I could remember my mother would pack up and take me to the campsite with her.

I couldn’t wait for that long drive to the campsite to be over so I could stretch out my legs and take a deep breath of fresh air. The site was breathtaking, a scenery of green of bright beautiful green leaves and grass.

I was truly free there. I would be able to go places without an adult. I of course had rules to follow like: I wasn’t allowed swimming at the lake alone or leaving the campsite grounds, but aside from that I was free, and I loved it. I rode my bike as fast as I could in those dirt roads, I swung as high as I could on those swings, I walked for hours with my friends.

My mother was a teacher so she’d get the same time off as me. We would spend almost 3 months straight up there! A lot of the time it would be just us as most of the other campers worked during the summer and we’re gone to the city during the week.

The summers seemed endless with continuous swimming in the lake or pool, delicious BBQ food, and nights sitting by the camp fire then going to gaze at stars while watching the firefly’s fly by. I wished those days would never end.

What really made summer summer was breakfast on the grill. My mom would cook everything on the BBQ. As it cooked I could hear the sizzle of the food being cooked. My mouth watered as I smelled the aromas of the potatoes cooking, the warm inviting smell of the bacon and sausages frying. The smell carried through mixing with the fresh air. Anticipation rose inside me and I could wait to eat.

When it was finally ready, it was like a Super Bowl victory!

The bacon was just crispy enough, but not over done. The Smokiness from the BBQ gave it that extra flavour making my mouth water with every bite. Bacon taste good anywhere but there is something about eating bacon not only cooked on the BBQ, but eating it outside. It just seems to taste better. The sausages were just perfect: crispy on the outside but tender on the inside. Smoke rising from the hot fresh potatoes add a little butter, salt and pepper on it, making it melt in my mouth. The BBQ giving it that extra crispiness and cooked flavour. The crunchiness of the perfectly cooked toast with the softness of the butter on it. My mom would sometimes surprise me with pancakes! Pancakes on the BBQ are delicious! You get a crispy outside with a light brown colour, drizzle it with fresh maple syrup. Each bite was sweet and salty mixing together, absolute harmony! Then follow it up with a sip of fresh orange juice adding the flavour of sweetness flavour to the meal.

As I ate the birds sang around me, hummingbirds came to the feeder so we could watch them eat, woodpeckers pecked on the surrounding trees. There is nothing more relaxing than sitting eating a hit breakfast while a cool summer breeze passes rustling the green leaves.

Each bite was a symbol of freedom, summer, being a kid and feeling loved.

It truly was a blissful meal, one that you could only get in summer.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Paige Turner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.