Feast logo

Boodle Fight

The Best Pinoy Snacks I've Enjoyed Over The Years

By Talia DevoraPublished 4 years ago 11 min read
Like

How have I heard of these unique Pinoy snack products, even if I am not Filipino?! There is an interesting tale behind this!

For the majority of my youth, I grew up in a Filipino neighbourhood in Toronto. In the Little Manila neighbourhood of Toronto, there was a huge strip mall that consisted of numerous Filipino restaurants, bakeries, markets, take-out joints, Filipino beauty shops/barbers and Filipino-Canadian churches that the locals would visit. Many of the caregivers that I had and encountered were Filipino, so they would often bring me to the Filipino markets and take-out joints. Many of the Filipino shopkeepers and grocery clerks were close with my nannies, so they would introduce me to them and I would often purchase some of their snacks and desserts.

The Filipino snacks that I discovered were not different from the westernized snacks that I kept in my house. The only differences, they were not imported from Canada or The States and they did not have French labels or writing on the packages. Many of the brand names were novel and eye-catching, which was also the reason why I loved the Filipino snacks more than the westernized ones my family would purchase from the local supermarket. I often opted for the cheesy and chocolatey snacks, because I loved Cheetos and anything chocolate as a child. However, I also loved the filled crackers which are fortunately easy to find in the local supermarkets in my area.

Over the years, I determined my favourite Pinoy snacks that I will never stop loving. Whenever I see these products in the Asian supermarket or the odd Oriental mini mart I would shop in, it brings back important memories from my childhood. It brings me back to the two shops that I often visited and enjoyed with my caregiver. Those stores became a part of my regular life, so I can never forget those moments I had in those stores. Even as an adult, I'll consume these beloved Pinoy snacks with a bottle of water, a box of juice or some milk beverages that I would purchase from the mini mart. I would find a park bench or a spot in the plaza to lounge around in while feasting on some of these snacks. Where I live, there are numerous Oriental markets and mini marts, so I still have the opportunity to purchase these favourites of mine. I am just so thankful that I did not lose this wonderful opportunity I had as a child!

Take a look at my 8 favourite Filipino snacks that I enjoy as an adult!

1. LALA Fish Crackers

I'm sure this may be a stereotype that all Pinoys are tired of hearing. Filipino's love their fish! They love to eat fish flavoured snacks or meals that include all kinds of fish, regardless of age, weight or gender! After leisurely shopping at FV Food Market in Toronto, I discovered the coolest thing in my entire life- fish crackers! I remember purchashing my first pouch of fish crackers and longing to eat them as soon as I was able to. Once I opened my first bag of LALA Fish Crackers, my mouth started to water and I could smell the flavour as I began digging in. The delicious salty-vinegar flavour and the intense crunch of those fish crackers made my day. I could not resist buying or eating this tropical snack once I was finished my first bag. Many Filipinos love to dip their fish crackers in vinegar, just like how us Canadians love to dip our potato chips in sour cream and onion. I did not mind dipping my fish chips in vinegar, however I also enjoyed eating them without the vinegar since the flavour was already sufficient for me. I did not need to add extra flavour if it was already added. If you live in a Filipino neighbourhood, are planning to take a trip to The Philippines or just want to venture out to some random Asian market in your area, I totally suggest checking out these classic fish crackers that are treasured by all Filipinos! Even if you are not Filipino yourself, it doesn't hurt to try!

2. Stik-O Wafer Cookies

As I elucidated in several food blogs, I have a huge sweet tooth. Every time I crave something sugary, I go for it regardless of where I gallivating or lounging around in at the time. When I was roughly 9 years old, I had my first ever box of Stik O Wafers which are offered in a variety of flavours: ube (purple potato), chocolate, strawberry and buko pandan (a green coconut flavour). Out of all the flavours that were sold across the city, I presided over chocolate since I have been a chocolate addict my entire life. Once I open a box of Chocolate Stik O's, I cannot stop eating. I will have no problem devouring a whole box of Stik O's when I am lazying around at the park or a plaza for a few hours on a mild weather day. There is something about Stik O's that is more attractive than any other wafer cookie brand- the memories I had of going the Filipino stores and my nannies who would occasionally hoard boxes of Stik O Wafers in their bedrooms. Whenever the nanny was not in her bedroom or out of the house, I used to sneak in her bedroom just to grab a handful of Stik O's- that's how much I adored Stik O's. If you are a sweet tooth yourself and just happen to be around a Filipino market one day, I totally suggest trying Stik O's. They are delicious!

3. Chiz Curls

What a classic these crunchy cheese puffs are! I remember seeing these for the first time when I was 9 years old. Since I am a cheese addict myself, I love anything that included cheese. As a child, I did not mind consuming anything that included different kinds of cheese, whether it was the classic American Cheeto's or the Filipino Chiz Curls. Every time I visited the Filipino markets in my area, one of the first things that caught my attention were Chiz Curls. I fell in love with my first pack of Chiz Curls. Even nowadays, I will scarf down a bag of these delicious cheese puffs if I purchased them at a local Asian market. It is one of my all-time favourite snacks asides from LALA Fish Crackers. For all cheese addicts out there, I recommend adding Chiz Curls to your grocery lists! Once you open your firsdt bag, you're not going to want to stop eating! It is a perfect snack for your kids to enjoy during family movie night, picnics, birthday parties and Christma jubilees. You don't have to be Filipino to enjoy this classic cheese snack. Any ethnicity can buy and eat Chiz Curls!

4. Sweet Corn

I love anything corny and sweet. Sweet Corn is a classic Filipino snack that I also enjoyed over the years. I did not have it as often, but I still loved the mouthwatering sweet taste and the magnificent crunch of those corn pops. Since I loved eating Corn Pops for breakfast as a child, I loved a good old pouch of Sweet Corn since it was no different from the American Corn Pops. If I were to buy a pouch of Sweet Corn a week, I would turn into a corn! I could eat a whole bag of this in one sitting. For all of the corn lovers out there, please consider buying Sweet Corn. This will be a perfect alternative to popcorn, if you are craving something sweet. You can find these at the local Asian markets or at your local supermarket if they have an international food aisle. Once you take two bites of this delicious snack, you're not going to want to stop!

5. Ube Cake

Ube is one of the go-to Filipino delicacies in my neighbourhood. In any Filipino or Asian supermarket such as T and T in Vaughan, you will have no trouble finding any kind of Ube product. Many of the shelves in the Filipino snack and dessert aisle will be covered with products like Ube cakes, Ube crackers, Ube preserves and Ube-infused cookies. Out of all the Ube delicacies that I consumed in the youth, Ube cake was one of my go-to desserts. Occasionally, my nanny used to keep packs of these Ube cakes in her room, so I would enjoy eating them with her. Once I turned 16, I still loved Ube cake since it made such good memories in my household. Every time I would shop at T and T or any Filipino mini mart in the city of Vaughan, I would buy a whole pack of Ube cake if I was in the mood. After I eat one Ube cake, I would eat half the pack so I try not to buy it as often. Even though I would die for these moist, vibrant and sweet Ube cakes, it will become an addiction that I can't get over. These classic treats will be the best bet for parties and picnics, since you will not be enjoying them alone. For all the sweet tooths out there, please purchase a package of individually wrapped Ube cakes! They are so delicious!

6. Curly Tops

Every time I see a pack of these classic Curly Top chocolates, I imagine one thing from my childhood- the Curly Top movie. Many of the Filipino markets in my area would be stocked with these milky, sugary and chewy Curly Top chocolates. As I said before, I am a chocolate addict. I did not consume many of these candies during my childhood, but they are definitely things I would buy in the future. I don't think I could manage to eat Curly Tops alone, because I won't be able to resist. So I would purchase Curly Tops for any party or gathering that I would have with my friends and family. If you love products like Werthers Original, Hershey's Kisses, Godiva Chocolates or Lindt Chocolates, Curly Tops should be one of your new additions! This is an amazing choice for kids and adults who love candy and chocolate.

7. Sunflower Crackers

Sunflower Crackers are a classic! People of all races, religions, genders and ages enjoy this simple but yummy snack of Sunflower Crackers! The first time I saw these was when I went on a picnic with one of my caregivers and some of her other friends. She carried a blue and white box of Sunflower Crackers to share with the nannies and other children attending the picnic. On another day, I went to the local Filipino store that was located near my dad's house on Belgravia Road. The store owned boxes of Sunflower Crackers that came in various flavours like strawberry. I loved the Sunflower Sandwich cookies, because I loved candy as a child. I was also a big fan of Oreo cookies, so Sunflower Cracker Sandwiches were just another kind of sandwich cookie to feast on. I have not eaten Sunflower Cookies since I was a young child, but I would love to eat them again. If I decided to eat the plain crackers, I usually liked eating them by itself or with cheese spread. If I plan to host another party or picnic with my peers after the Coronavirus pandemic, I'll add Sunflower Crackers to the shopping list! I recommend adding Sunflower Crackers to your shopping lists as well!

8. Nagaraya Peanuts

This peanut snack was not discovered until I was 19 years old, when I entered 711 to grab a quick bite before my counselling session. I did not know they were imported from The Philippines, since it had Japanese writing at the top. I thought they were Japanese, South Asian or Malaysian at first. Once I researched this specific product and saw them at multiple Asian markets such as FV Foods in Toronto, I finally determined that they were Filipino! I love any salty snack that includes flavoured peanuts, so I consider Nagaraya Garlic Flavoured Peanuts to be one of my favourite snacks that were enjoyed as an adult. As a child, I wasn't big into peanuts, so I did not bother purchasing Nagaraya peanuts. Any person that loves peanuts will do very well with these Nagaraya peanuts. They come in various flavours like barbecue and can be purchased anywhere. They are not very pricey, so you can buy them at the grocery store or local gas station such as 711.

Anything else?!!!

For all of my friends who have an interest in trying foods from around the world, this will be another blog for you to be psyched about! I'm definitely one of those people to try new foods from around the world, since I grew up in an environment where my mom, dad and the nannies would cook foods from all different cultures. The reason why I wanted to do a blog specifically discussing the kinds of Pinoy snacks was because I want to remember the foods that I have enjoyed over the years, and to recommend some of the delicacies that I still enjoy.

I hope you love this story! Please like, send me a tip, share this story with your loved ones and follow me under the name of naturalbibliophile22 to connect and be in the loop for more exciting stories! Salamat po and have a good week!

Paalam po!

*Paalam po is goodbye

*Salamat po is thank you

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.