Feast logo

Birthday

On birthdays we all like a beautiful moist chocolate cake to eat as a desert.

By Tanika StimpsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Birthday
Photo by Nick Stephenson on Unsplash

People grow older by a year, and each year people like to celebrate in some way.

Since 2020 a year after my son was diagnosed with diabetes, I have been cautious about what he eats. When I was celebrating my birthday, I bought a small cheap chocolate cake from the store my son was so excited to have—some cake with his mummy, he was so excited to share some cake. After celebrating my birthday, we then celebrated my son's 1st diabetes anniversary, which is also known as a diaversary with a moist chocolate cake. This cake tasted so delicious it was also in a shape of a spiderman head with lots of colours, mainly red, black and white; he was able to take it to preschool to share with his friends, he and his friends were able to have a small piece of the cake each. To celebrate a diabetes anniversary is to celebrate we accomplished the year with diabetes. A few months later, in August, it was his birthday, so we were able to celebrate with candy and his favourite chocolate cake, which we had custom made with Mickey Mouse and his pals. My son was so happy to have a day where we just counted extra carbohydrates to put into the insulin pump; I was able to make it extra special for him by allowing him to go nuts and eat whatever he wanted to eat as it was a once a year thing.

Mine and my son's favourite cake to make together is a chocolate cake with strawberries on top and chocolate icing. My son likes to help mix the batter together and make it nice a smooth. He then comes up to me every 5 minutes, asking if the cake is finished baking in the oven so he can eat it. Once the cake is finished baking in the oven, my son asks me if he can spread the chocolate icing on top and place the chopped strawberries on top in the spaces he chooses for each piece, then he tells me that we have to add hundreds and thousands all over it whilst also licking his fingers and while he continues to scoop up some icing on his finger to lick more off and tells me that this is yummy yummy in my tummy tummy." When we make the cake, my son and I like to eat the cake baked, but we also like to lick the bowl and the beaters; we do this so we can get every single little drop of the chocolate batter. For dessert, we chop a piece of the moist cake pours the custard on top of the cake.

Recently we made some cake and then sat in bed watching Charlie and the chocolate factory, during the movie I found it funny when my son told me that he wants to go to the chocolate factory and eat the chocolate from the river using a big straw. I then responded to him with this by stating that I wish I could do that too. I then told him to imagine if we could have a chocolate fight at the factory to throw the chocolate river at each other, and he then laughed at me and said, "mum, that's silly!" I then said, but it would be fun to do. We could be covered in chocolate, and we then could sing the Cadbury chocolate song; he then laughed at me again and said, "mum, that's a funny joke, your so silly, mum." He then stuck his tongue out and said, "yummy", while we continued to watch our movie.

By Charisse Kenion on Unsplash

cuisine
3

About the Creator

Tanika Stimpson

My name is Tanika im a single mum to a beautiful boy. My blogs are about mine and my son’s life. My son and I are currently doing this while fundraising for JDRF by doing the JDRF One Walk.

We will be sharing updates on my son’s service dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.