Feast logo

Beans and Wieners

You'll love this savory dish!

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Beans and Wieners by Amanda Payne

Beans and Wieners are made with tenderly cooked ground meat, onions, Lit’l Smoked Sausages, pork and beans, honey BBQ sauce, ketchup, and brown sugar. Whenever these ingredients are combined, you know you are going to get a great meal.

My sweet Aunt Mary makes these Beans and Wieners for family get-togethers. Everyone loves it, especially my cousin Josh. He puts in a request for it! She makes hers with ground beef. I usually make mine with ground venison. You can use whatever ground meat you prefer or have on hand.

This recipe is so delicious and extremely easy to make. It takes less than 30 minutes to cook. That automatically makes it a favorite of mine. Prep time is literally the amount of time it takes to chop an onion, and you only dirty up one kettle! YAY!

Serves: 8

Serving Size: 1.5 Cups of Beans and Wieners

Calories: 785

Fat: 19 g

Carbohydrates: 105 g

Protein: 46 g

Beans and Wieners Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds of beef (or other ground meat: venison, chicken, turkey)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 pack of Hillshire Farm Lit’l Wieners Smoked Sausages
  • 2 15 ounce cans of Campbell’s Pork and Beans
  • 1 cup of Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey Barbecue Sauce
  • 1 cup of Heinz Tomato Ketchup
  • 1 cup of Domino lite brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of water

Getting It Done:

  1. In a large kettle, heated to medium-high heat, cook the ground hamburger meat, chopped onions, Lit’l Smokies, and water until the hamburger meat is no longer pink. This should only take about 7 minutes. Drain the excess grease if needed.
  2. Add the honey BBQ sauce, ketchup, brown sugar, and pork and beans. Bring it to a simmer, and cook until it thickens, stirring often. This should take about 20 minutes.
  3. Remove from the heat and serve.

If this batch is too large, you can always cut it down according to your needs. You can find free recipe dividers online.

Beans and Wieners are great with cornbread or saltine crackers. On occasion, I have even been known to make grilled cheese sandwiches with it, too.

It is great as leftovers. To store, keep them in an airtight container in the refrigerator. It will stay fresh for at least a few days. Take some to work the next day for lunch, and you will notice your coworkers enjoying the savory aroma while your lunch is heating up. I guarantee they will want some or at least ask for the recipe!

I have thought about home canning these beans and wieners, but I am unsure how it will turn out. I worry they will not stay sealed because of the fat. I have frozen the leftover Beans and Wieners before. They were not horrible, but they definitely lost some of their freshness. So, I would recommend keeping the leftovers in the fridge and eating them within a few days.

I hope you enjoy the recipe!

Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you like it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent comfort food recipes made with beans: Venison Baked Beans, Chili Mac and Cheese, and Deer Calico Beans.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This Beans and Wieners recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.