Feast logo

Bakers Special: Sugar-Free Grasshopper Pie Recipe

The ketogenic, low-carb, sugar and alcohol free version of the classic Grasshopper Pie!

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

My passion for creating sugar-free, ketogenic and guilt-free desserts increased during the later months of the pandemic, as I continue to lose weight and overcome sugar addiction. After gaining inspiration from my stepmother who loves to cook and bake, several instagram accounts that focus on health, nutrition and flexible dieting, and searching for several sugar-free recipes of some of my favourite desserts and undiscovered desserts that I want to try, I started to gain satisfaction in sugar-free baking. I have an in-home baking business that I am putting on hold for the remainder of the pandemic, and until I am ready to obtain my food handlers certification, so constantly being on the hunt for sugar-free, ketogenic and guilt-free recipes is helping me prepare and perfect my baking skills in the meantime. Although I am not practicing the full ketogenic diet, I believe that incorporating some keto-friendly desserts and snacks are making it more simple for me to overcome sugar addiction, which means that I don't have to depend on snacks and desserts that contain refined sugar like Oreos and Breyers Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream every night, and regret having dessert after! I can enjoy dessert while managing to lose weight, look after my health and at the same time, be happy!

Sugar-Free, Ketogenic and Low Carb Grasshopper Pie is one of the recipes that I found on the internet. I do not have alcohol and refuse to add alcohol to my delicacies. I do not have the 0 calorie mint-chip infused syrup, so I replaced it with peppermint extract, Swerve confectioners sugar substitute, unsweetened chocolate and coconut oil, which is very beneficial for health conscious individuals. It ended up tasting very delicious and I finished the whole pie within three nights, because it was so addictive but guilt-free. The grasshopper pie stopped me from wanting extra sugar at night, which is when I crave the most sugar.

You will not regret having a serving of the Sugar-Free Grasshopper Pie that I personally enjoyed eating myself! This will make a perfect addition to a family meal or a picnic. Kids will even love this dessert, even if kids are not interested in sugar free desserts! If you love cheesecake, you will love this concoction I came up with! If you love mint chocolate chip ice cream, this will be the ideal delicacy that will hopefully become your new favourite!

The recipe for the Sugar-Free, Ketogenic and Low-Carb Grasshopper Pie is below:

Ingredients

The crust

1/3 cup of coconut or almond flour

3-4 tbsps of Stevia or Swerve

3-4 tbsps of unsweetened cocoa powder

4 tbsps of melted coconut oil

1/2 tbsp of peppermint extract

The filling

1-1/2 carton of whipping cream

1/2 container of plain whipped cream cheese

1/2 tsp of peppermint extract

1/2 tbsp of vanilla extract

4 drops of light or dark green food coloring

The topping

1 cup of unsweetened bakers chocolate

1/3 cup of melted coconut oil

3-4 tbsps of Swerve confectioners sugar

Directions

1. Combine all the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl. Once all of the dry ingredients are mixed, melt the coconut oil for 50 seconds in the microwave. Include the melted coconut oil into the crust mixture and stir well.

2. Add the crust mixture into a baking pan and refridgerate for 10-20 minutes or until ready to use again.

3. While waiting for the crust to harden, make the pie filling. Pour the whipping cream into a mixing bowl and whisk for 2 minutes with an electric or a hand mixer.

4. Include the cream cheese, vanilla extract, peppermint extract, and green food coloring into the pie filling and whisk for another 2 minutes.

5. Add the sugar substitute and gently stir it into the whipping cream, to avoid the batter from becoming too liquidy.

6. Once ready, grab the crust from the refridgerator, add the pie filling and then refridgerator for 10-20 minutes.

7. In the meanwhile, melt the coconut oil and unsweetened chocolate into a small pot and melt for another 3 minutes.

8. Once the chocolate and coconut oil is done, let it cool for 5-6 minutes before adding the sugar substitute into the glaze.

9. Grab the pie from the refridgerator and then drizzle the chocolate topping on the pie.

10. Refridgerate the pie for 3-4 hours or until you are ready to consume.

11. Serve onto a small plate and enjoy!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.