Feast logo

Baked Pizza Mac and Cheese Recipe

When you don’t have time or money to order a pizza, make this unique pasta dish for the whole family to feast on!

By Talia DevoraPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

From an early age, I was a huge pizza and pasta fan. I loved anything with mozzarella and cheddar cheese and would still include it in things like pasta dishes and salads. As an adult, I figured out that I am a cheese addict, since I would use cheese in pretty much anything. Early in my adulthood, I used to put so much cheese on my food that my mom would beg me to quit melting cheese on my food. Cheese was the only thing that I could depend on to add flavour to the food, since I wasn't a fond of spices. When I did not like a dish but wanted to give it one more try, I would cover it with cheese and melt it in the microwave to cover up the original taste.

Occasionally, I would crave a large pizza from the local pizza joint, even if I know it is not healthy for me. I know that I cannot have a large pizza all to myself, if I want to improve my long-term wellbeing, so I came up with a solution. I would enjoy creating miniature homemade pizzas using bread, tortillas, pitas and bagels and I have managed to come up with my own edible masterpiece called Baked Pizza Macaroni and Cheese. This is a simple dish to make for a family meal, a casual gathering with friends or a meal to enjoy on your own at home. All you need is pre-boiled pasta, the necessary ingredients, an oven and a baking pan!

My theory is, why visit the pizza joint or an expensive Italian restaurant everyday when you can just concoct some of your Italian dishes in the comforts of your own dwelling? It can be expensive to buy pizza or Italian food every day after work or school and it is much healthier for you to cook at home. You can choose whether you want gluten-free, keto, paleo, whole wheat, four-grain or traditional white store-bought pasta, bread or flour to create homemade pizza dough and pasta. If you consider making something delicious one night, but refuse to visit the Italian restaurant or pizza joint for take out, here is the recipe for my delicious Baked Pizza Macaroni and Cheese Casserole to treasure and share with your friends and family!

Ingredients

1-1/2 lbs of pasta (I chose whole wheat penne, but any kind of pasta will work)

1-1/2 cups of tomato sauce

4 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese

1-2 tbsps of parmesan cheese

1-5 cups of pre-cooked onions and/or assorted vegetables of your choice

1-2 tsps of garlic powder

1-2 tsps of paprika powder

1-2 tbsps of additional spices (optional)

A pinch of kosher salt

A pinch of pepper

Directions

1. In a large pot, fill it with tap water and several pinches of salt to boil for 3-5 minutes on medium to high. Once the water is boiled, add the pasta and boil on low-medium for another 10-20 minutes. You can feel free to boil the pasta on high for another 3-5 minutes if you want, but it is not necessary. After you are done boiling the pasta, drain it and let the pasta cool for 5-10 minutes.

2. Add the pasta back into the pot where you boiled the pasta. Consolidate all of the ingredients into the pot and stir it well before transferring it onto the baking pan. Afterwards, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease the pan with any kind of oil before transferring the pasta onto the baking pan. If the pasta is cool enough, feel free to use a mixing bowl in replacement of a pot.

3. Once the baking pan is greased, transfer the pasta onto the baking pan. Add another 1-2 cups of mozzarella cheese and a couple tbsps of parmesan cheese on top. Once you are done with the cheese, sprinkle the prepared vegetables on top.

4. Once the oven is preheated, bake the pasta for 25-30 minutes depending on how crispy you want it.

5. When the pasta is out of the oven, let it cool for 5-10 minutes on the stove top before eating or storing in the refridgerator.

Tips

1. If you have any dietary restrictions (e.g. gluten-free, vegan, etc.), you can modify this recipe. In lieu of regular cheese, traditional whole wheat or white pasta, you can use any gluten free pasta and vegan cheese. Any kind of spices will work with this recipe. I just used whatever I had in the kitchen.

2. The vegetables will taste best when they are pre-cooked, but feel free to incorporate raw vegetables if it is easier for you.

I hope you enjoy this blog! Please like, share with your family/friends, send me a tip and follow me under the Instagram name of naturalbibliophile22 for upcoming Vocal stories! Take care and have a great week! Cheers Vocal mates!

By Hybrid on Unsplash

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.